We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwall Bar and Grill

Rockwall Bar and Grill
89 Salamanca Place | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
03 6224 2929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Quick walk from our hotel (Lenna) so visited Rockwall on our first evening in Hobart at the suggestion of hotel staff - a pleasant intro the town's gastronomic delights! Friendly, quick service, good wine list of great Tassie wines and meals delicious though perhaps not over ambitious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    100
    23
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Enjoyed a Sunday Evening meal here with my wife and son and the food and service was very good.The restaurant does not make the excellent status but is still worth visiting as you shouldnt be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Every bite was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stumbled across this wonderful spot on our last day in Hobart and picked it more or less by chance. What followed was a couple of hours' worth of scrumptious food and drink, with amiable service. My companions had steak and seafood and my grilled catch of the day was served with a delicious potato rosti and perfectly cooked vegetables. All three of us thought this one of our best Hobart meals.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rock well at Rockwall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very good service from the start when they moved some patrons to allow us to increase our booking at the last minute. The steaks are very good and the wine list covers most bases. A rock solid eating experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had very good service , it's not fine dinning , It's about the food and the wine list is very good. Very helpful service , I had amazing local oysters and duck
I'll be back .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockwall Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockwall Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwall Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.