We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely service but average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Curries Indian Restaurant

Magic Curries Indian Restaurant
41 Hampden Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
61(03) 6223 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 477 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Magic Curries being not very authentic name was given to our place so that people could remember it easily. Ours is a North Indian (Punjabi) restaurant,run by family since 2001.We recommend our patrons to tell their taste while ordering. This will help & challenge us to make your night more enjoyable and to match your taste buds. Magic Curries is very popular among locals due to its good food,service and flexibility.Our team makes sincere efforts to give our patrons a wonderful experience.If you are new to the Indian food,please don't be afraid,ask our staff,they will try their best to offer you suitable options. We can assure you in Magic Curries that our patrons is our no 1 priority.In winter,Magic Curries has an open log fire, which is very popular among our diners.We look forward to see you during your next trip to Hobart.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lovely service but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

its a lovely cosy setting and the service was great...

the menu looked great but i found the food to be kinda bland, westernised indian if you like... and kinda exxy when compared to the other options.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We love love this restaurant and have dinner there as often as we can when we visit Hobart. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food is delicious. Love the open fire on cold nights. Such a cosy atmosphere. Decor adds to atmosphere of Magic Curry. The restaurant is always packed on weekend nights, so many others agree with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Liked the decor, and waitress was ok. Food was overpriced and the worst Indian we have had. My Biryani was unrecognisable as such. The Madras did not have the delightful combination of spices you would enjoy usually. Only 6 guests dining there in total....was that an indicator? Wish we had gone to Annapurna instead!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy indian food, with great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were put off by the name, but as we were unable to get into any other surrounding restaurants, we had no choice but to check if they had availability... and we are glad that we did!
Service was friendly and prompt, food was delicious and the wine selection was great! It was a pleasant surprise :) We would definitely go back there next time we stay at Battery Point!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ordinary....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Went to Magic Curries tonight for the man's birthday. While he loves Indian, I'm not really a fan but endure a yearly feed as a treat to him. Sadly this experience is not about to change me into an Indian lover. It's not that it was bad, it was just not anything special. Started with papadams, onion bhaji and cheese pakora, all accompanied with a mint sauce. The mint sauce was the absolute highlight of the meal, reasonably thick and creamy with a good hit of mint flavour and great with the papadams. Only problem was that it overpowered the food, though after tasting the bhaji and pakora without the sauce this might just be the point, as they were rather bland.

We followed this with prawn maharaja (mine, mild) and beef vindaloo (his, hot+), with rice and nan. The prawn dish was disappointing with 8 smallish, nicely cooked prawns floating in an underwhelming sauce (somewhat improved by adding some of the mint sauce, held onto from the entrees). The man was happier with his vindaloo, which was quite tasty and the beef was tender but nowhere near the "hot +" advertised on the menu. The man likes a curry that kicks his butt and this wasn't it. I can't handle spicy foods that kick my butt and could have eaten the whole lot and barely broken a sweat. The plain nan was fine but the garlic was a little undercooked and doughy.

Service was adequate but unenthusiastic and could have been better considering the place was very quiet. We brought our own bottle of wine and after we looked at the menu the waitress came over and asked if we would like it opened. She proceeded to undo the screw-cap, put the bottle back on the table without pouring and walked away (maybe she realised we were suprised because we witnessed her pour readily for the other table that came after us). Also, no ice bucket was offered to keep our wine chilled so thankfully it was not a warm evening. I don't mind paying corkage (in this case $4 a bottle - very reasonable!) but when all you're getting for the charge is two glasses and no service it seems a little unreasonable.

A 25% saving thanks to the Entertainment Book made the meal less than $55 - very reasonably priced, even without the discount. Just a shame I will be in no hurry to return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Curries Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Magic Curries Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Curries Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.