We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HEREEEE !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre Royal Hotel

Theatre Royal Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Theatre Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Theatre Royal Hotel
31 Campbell Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HEREEEE !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The title says it all. Do not stay here. We only saw the workers when we checked in and didn't see them at all again. We were the only people staying at the hotel and it was all locked up. The pub didn't open once while we were there even though it was meant to open and the bar on the other side was only open for one day for like 4 hours and then it was shut again. The phone kept ringing non stop especially at night time and it was just ringing constantly no one hanged up on it it was just a ringing noise over and over again and then it was still going in the morning. Also the shower was annoying you turn it on it will be hot then it will be cold then it will be hold and then cold etc so you had to stand in a certain position for it to stay warm. Every night at the same time you heard people walking up the stairs and then you hear this door shut and then every morning you hear them leave again but the thing was nobody was there cause we went to see if anyone was actually but nope which was really creepy and odd. Also we had to help ourselves with new towels and stuff which that door was open and some of the other unit s were left open and there was this one door with a massive desk in front of it which was odd and no one was there of course when we checked out. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. And felt like it was haunted ! Creepy as.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

As per Touringfiddler the hotel was locked and we had to wait although only five minutes.
We did get a refund.
The room that was reserved for me was supposed to be an 'En-Suite'. It was in a sense. The bath WC was in the bedroom screened off by a very old fashioned three section wooden screen the type you see in cowboy pictures.

Room Tip: There is no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and the hotel was locked. We called the owner and waited 15 minutes for him to come by and open it. I had booked a twin room, meaning two beds, with a spa. The spa was in a the room. No walls, no shower curtain. The toilet was in the room. No walls, just a small screen. The toilet was four feet from the bed. The one double bed in the room, which I had thought would be two. As my colleague and I didn't think there was enough room to share, I called the owner later that night and asked for a mattress. No answer, no call back. There was nobody in the hotel. No desk, nobody on hand to help guests who were paying $160 per night! The store room door was open, with mess, clothing and cutlery strewn everywhere. We found a mattress in the storeroom and had to rummage through the mess to find a spare blanket.
I had mistakenly booked another night and had requested a refund with the owner a week before the mistakenly booked date, and he assured me it would be "sorted when I got there." No mention. The day after our stay, I called and asked about the refund. Their "accountant" was on "holiday." Three weeks later, I call the owner, who is now in New Zealand and can't help me with a refund. He gives me a number if his accountant. The number is engaged for 24 hours. The hotel rings and rings. No refund. Silly me.
Don't stay there- it's awful, and run by a liar.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My family did not stay here, but had a meal before a show at the Theatre Royal. Firstly the meal was very ordinary and very over priced. The Asian Platter was all processed food out of a packet and cost $25. Secondly the waitress while pleasant enough had long flowing hair, which looked lovely but should not be hanging in your food when being served.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here over a weekend from Launceston. All accommodattion in Hobart was booked out due to the cricket, clear to see why accommodation was still available at this facility. Over priced, but didnt realise this until we actually got into our room. $125 a night, no television, no ensuite, no fans or air con, and a fridge on the carpet in the middle of the room, tidy but not clean and traffic could be heard from our room 24/7, we had a kettle, weetbix (no milk), coffee/tea (no mugs). The communual bathroom facilities consisted of one shared shower, and one shared toilet for the women, mens facilities were extremely hard to find (no-one told us anything) patrons had to walk through the hotels laundry (i think) to get to them, and both showers had products of the previous guests sprawled throughout them (old shavers,shampoo,deodrant,bits of soap) not exactly clean. I was forced to re-stock the toilet rolls with the toilet paper that had been sat next to our tea/coffee making facilities in our room. When we woke up the first morning the guests staying next to us were leaving (left the door open, bed un-made and key in the door) it remained in this state for the rest of our stay. Staff were never seen upstairs(where rooms were located). All in all a shocking waste of money, the only positive was the central location.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

We rented spa suite in early January. Configuration of room is bizarre with toilet actually in the room itself (I.e. no separate bathroom) - not for modest couples! Half of room will be drenched during shower due to lack of shower curtain. You will also need to close all curtains to avoid direct line of sight to other rooms and hospital rooms across the road.

Staff helpful at 'check in' but then nowhere to be seen during our two night stay, so if you are high maintenance guests and want things like fresh towels or bed made etc (e.g. typical "hotel" style service) then don't stay here.

To sum up, not a romantic stay but perfectly serviceable for exploring Hobart on foot.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Photos looked great and for the price it seems terrific. WRONG. Service was non-existent, security was apalling (ie, no staff on site overnight, street door unlocked totally, our safety was at risk, disco until midnight at a volume that shook the window, no staff in attendance next morning to book out, had to leave key in our room door and leave, no way to lock outer door as we left. No other guests either, all rooms left open, except the two bars when alcohol and money must have been, they being more important than the safety and wellbeing of any hapless guests who wander in. I am still, after two months, trying to get a refund of the night;s accommodation as I was charged twice, once when the reservation was made (which I thought was a security hold only through Need it Now site, and by eftpos on arrival despite the woman checking the computer! Have to question the honesty of the establishment as well as business practices! All I can say is DONT DO IT!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Theatre Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre Royal Hotel

Address: 31 Campbell Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Theatre Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theatre Royal Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.