We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruny Island Wildlife Adventure Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bruny Wildlife Adventure

Bruny Wildlife Adventure
Brook Street Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
(03) 62315113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 66 Tours & Activities in Hobart
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An unforgettable journey blending Tasmania's natural beauty, wildlife, and superb food and wine.Your Bruny Island cruise begins and ends in Hobart aboard luxury catamaran Peppermint Bay II, includes an incredible voyage off Bruny Island and the Southern Ocean aboard coastal exploration vessel, Adventure. You'll journey into the heart of a remote fur seal colony for an up-close encounter with these amazing animals in their natural habitat, including live vision from the Adventure's undersea cameras.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bruny Island Wildlife Adventure Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Expensive, but worth the money, as it's an excursion you would only do once. We were fortunate enough to have really good weather (Friday 4th January - 42c in Hobart), the sea was calm - no 10 metre swells thank goodness. Still needed the big coats as we sat at the back on the fast boat off Bruny - but this is a really great place to sit, so grab one of their coats and sit in the back row of the speed boat - a great ride!
Our tour guide was excellent, very informative and passionate. Plenty of photo opportunities on the island part of the tour, and the adventure boat driver ensured that each side of the speed boat got excellent views of the seals and the rugged landscape. We really felt like we were at the end of the world - next stop Antartcia. Lunch was really lovely, so coupled with the experience of being on a high speed (eco) speed boat, and then the Peppermint Bay luxury cruiser to and from Hobart, we had a really unique day. Would loved to have seen dolphins, but such is life!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exhilarating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose this tour over the "more popular" one as they did the first half by ferry down the Derwent to Bruny Island while the other puts you on a bus to Bruny.

Geoff our guide was great but we would have loved it if he'd spoken more clearly over the microphone head set so we could get all the info he was giving us!

We also clearly didn't do well in the technology stakes as on the ferry the speaker was very muffled and on the RIB the one above us didn't work but when we asked them about it they turned the volume up which was handy.

Josh the RIB skipper was well spoken and very informative as well as being a great skipper providing some exciting turns in the boat!

The tour itself was great. The rock formations of the caves and cliffs was stunning. Didn't get to see as much wildlife as hoped - we saw gulls, cormorants and a few seals. I was really hoping to see whales and dolphins but sadly we weren't that lucky.

Lunch was fabulous and getting to taste all the gourmet delights of Bruny Island was great.

HANDY TIP: Although they provide full length jackets, I would suggest if you feel the cold to rug up. I was wearing 2 lighter Icebreaker layers, a light jumper and a jacket as well as the provided jacket as well as leggings under jeans, a scarf, a beanie and gloves and I was still cold!! My husband who doesn't feel the cold much was also chilly and very grateful for his beanie!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a hard one to rate, the day starts great with a boat trip to the island, then bus ride. Once on the fast boat things change. Unfortunatley Because the swell was so big it was not enjoyable. By the time we got to the seals I didn't care because I just wanted to be on land. If the swell wasn't so big I'm sure it would have been fabulous, I must say the captain of the boat was unbelievable. Once back on land we had a beautiful lunch with lovely fresh local produce. All in all I'm glad I did it but really wish the water was calm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is a must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of the best one day tours you could ever do. It is extremely professional, it is classy, the staff knowledgeable and friendly, and it is very good value. Three hours in a big speed boat in the southern ocean looking at seals, looking for whales, in a swell that was very big, is just something everyone should do. This is followed by a fantastic lunch including local Bruny Is oysters. Do it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Don't miss this day tour, where you get to see and smell the seals, great day crew was great heaps of knowledge a must do

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruny Wildlife Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Bruny Wildlife Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruny Wildlife Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.