We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights

Harbour Lights
29 Morrison Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03 6224 2138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Australian, Café, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Cheap breakfast in nice little cafe near the waterfront. Although we only had breakfast (Toast) the menu looks quite good and would like to go there again in the future. Very quaint with 2 floors.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    58
    17
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a quick lunch there at the tail end of the rush period and only had a limited time before we needed to catch the Mona Ferry. The staff were very friendly, attentive and our food and coffee's came out very promptly.
Two of us had the lightly curried scallop pie and salad and this was excellent-lots of scallop filling and the curry didn't overpower the subtle scallop flavour. Our third companion had a patisserie and this was both fresh and tasty.
The cafe looks out across to the ferry wharves next to Constitution Dock and has a warm and welcoming decor

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad attitude from staff ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went to have breakfast here - sadly we waited and waited and waited for service - when we had the temerity to ask to place an order one girl said in a short manner " will be with you shortly " a couple of minutes later she came back and announced to is that she can't do everything at the same time : we left without ordering - there was no need for this a simple apology for keeping us waiting for so long would have been nice - but sharing your problems you should do with your boss - not your customers

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch was good, dinner was average. Great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I went here for lunch last month, and it was really good. I had calamari & salad and it was great - the chips were fabulous. Went there for dinner tonight and it was OK. Food was only just warm - and we waited for half an hour. Staff were very friendly though!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It was great to find this venue that had a great selection of choices for our breakfast. It was close to our hotel so was ideal. It was wonderful to see so many locals buying also take away snacks.
Definitely would go to again when in Hobart. Even the kids travelling with us loved the eggs Benedict and the delicious Hollandaise sauce.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.