We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in a rush to go back ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quarry Salamanca

Quarry Salamanca
27 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03 62 236 552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not in a rush to go back ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The restaurant itself is beautiful with a really lovely ambience but the staff were not very knowledgable about the menu or wine list. My eye fillet was chewy and the desserts were really disappointing. Rosewater creme brûlée tasted like plain condensed milk and the chocolate chilli tart was sludgey and bland. Didn't feel that I got value for money even with the Entertainment Card discount.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    16
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a fantastic meal at Quarry, great service, no ques, good wine list, what more can you ask for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and with attitude beyond”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have just had a gathering of 5 at The Quarry, not a busy night but only 3 staff including a manager who seemed to be way to busy on the phone. A lost food order meant a 50 minute delay, and then we had no drink left because the wine was finished, we suggested a complimentary drink was in order........they did not have the courtesy to come back and say no.
Two members of the party have owned restaurants and were quiet amazed by the attitude. One waiter did and would have fixed the problem if left to his initiative. However main problem here I think rests with management who was all too busy on the phone to deal with the real problems of service or lack of it...........none of us would ever go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant is located in the Heart of Salamanca. It is a casual restaurant in a great building where you can have a drink or a great meal at very reasonable prices. Service is excellent. Recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Brekkie at the Quarry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Didn't want to eat at the hotel so we thought we would try elsewhere. The quarry wasn't crowded (I know - bad sign but with a small child this can be an advantage)

The Good

Poached eggs well cooked - Bread it was on was like a sourdough but very fluffy.

The Average

No butter on the toast, needed to ask for some and no sugar at all on the table for a cup of tea and had to ask for it as well. Orange juice is not freshly squezzed and you can tell from the taste of it as well as it is a bit watery (for me at least)

The Bad.

We told the waiter that we would be sharing the scrambled eggs with our 2 year old son. When it come out it looked a bit funny, even a bit like wholemeal but it didn't click with us. We started off feeding our son the bacon a bit of toast dipped in poach egg and that was ok but as soon as he had some scrambled egg he spat it out straight away. When my wife and I tried it we realised the wholemeal look was the large amount of pepper added to the eggs which made it almost inedible even for us. We would have sent it back but given the time it would have taken for it to be recooked we needed to be on our way to catch our airport transfer.

When I went to pay I was told that there was a $3 charge for paying with Amex (not 3%) and this was not disclosed on any of the menus given to us. Small thing but on a $30 brekkie bill thats a 10% surcharge!

Pity about the food as the location presents very nicely and the inital service was very good but it started going down after that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarry Salamanca also viewed

 
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Quarry Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarry Salamanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.