We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting for Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quarry Salamanca

Quarry Salamanca
27 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03 62 236 552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I went with a group of friends from work.
Eight of us descended down the to The Quarry at Salamanca for breakfast, they have the best choices for Breakfast anywhere down at the wharf/Salamanca.
We all were asked if we wished to order drinks first, which we did and they promptly arrived, Breakfast took 20 mins which is appropiate, but came lukewarm/cold.
Much to my dismay , my eggs benedict and ham was luke warm, and others at the table stated theirs was cold!
A real shame and a dissapointment to us all.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    16
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We visited The Quarry several times during our stay for coffee and breakfast. We always found the service to be prompt and friendly. The Coffee was good and the breeakfast had an interesting range or options, was tasty and good value for money. This venue easily stacks up with places we have visited in Melbourne. We would happliy visit again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Enjoyed a great breakfast. Fantastic service, excellent menu and very nice decor.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Very Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Walked into a mostly empty restaurant on a rainy night in April in Hobart. The setting looked very nice and the service was terrific, since there were so few people. I had fish and chips, which were really good and my husband had the chicken schnitzel, equally as good. Thoroughly enjoyed the Tasmanian Sauvigon Blanc, as well. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The worst service we have ever experienced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Ate at this restaurant last night; food was average. Nothing special, but OK. However, the service was abysmal! Our waitress was totally did-interested; it took over 30-minutes for beers to arrive. We won't be back - there are many more options in Hobart that offer far better dining experiences. Avoid this place.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarry Salamanca also viewed

 
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Quarry Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarry Salamanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.