We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in a terrific location - if you like live music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivans Cove Apartments

Save Saved
You added Sullivans Cove Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sullivans Cove Apartments
5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hobart
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a terrific location - if you like live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in both the 2- and 3-bedroom apartments in the Gibsons Mill building in Morrison Street.

The tariff is reasonable for beautifully designed, high-end finish apartments in a terrific location just a few minutes walk from Salamanca Square and the CBD. The apartments have great amenities, including a full kitchen, daily cleaning and competitively priced maxi bar. Part of a complex of converted, period industrial buildings, the apartments are spacious, airy and very new!

The get light in, a lot of glass and light fabrication has been used in the conversion. It looks beautiful but not be a bonus for family or couples or groups wanting privacy from each other.

Check in requires guests to first go to a different location about 5 minutes walk away. After hours check in is via a password protected safe at the 2nd location to obtain the keys. It's a slightly awkward process but is part of the downside of not having full hotel service.

The only other gripe is the downside of its stellar location - it abuts a popular pub with live music and on weekend evenings the noise is pretty substantial until late.

Reception and cleaning staff were helpful and cooperative.

I would definitely book again, particularly if I was staying on week nights.

Room Tip: Get the 'penthouse' if you can. Gorgeous view and some outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gaskill71

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our apartments.
We are very excited and proud of the Gibson’s Mill development. As you noticed the attention to detail is very important to us and we pride ourselves on our five star rating and delivering a friendly service.
The check-in process is something we recognise can be slightly awkward given the different locations of the apartments around Hobart’s waterfront. We are looking into ways to make it as smooth as possible and endeavour to give our guests as much information about the process prior to arrival.
We also recognise that the weekend music from the venue next door may be an issue for some staying at the Gibson’s Mill apartments and we are trying to manage this to the best of our ability. We are sorry if it disturbed you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart on your next stay.

Warm regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    74
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
74
66
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really impressed with this apartment in the Gibson's Mill building. Located right down in the wharf area on a quiet street, a very short walk to Salamanca and half a minute to the MONA ferry. Luxuries included L'Occitane toiletries, king size bed, bathrobes and superb silence even on a Saturday night with the nearby pub at full throttle. A strong colour scheme; black leather L-shaped sofa with red cushions. The set up was intelligent - hall and foyer lights that click on automatically when you need them; paper towels, foil & gladwrap etc in the kitchen; iron, washing machine and dryer. I appreciated the original artwork on the walls downstairs and in my room; free WiFi and the friendly staff. Rooms serviced daily except Sunday which is unusual in an apartment.
The only thing this room doesn't have is a view, but the location is so much in the middle of things, I didn't miss it. Water pressure in the shower is not strong - I get the impression this apartment was designed to be quite eco-friendly. Be warned, Reception is off site and up a flight of stairs which is mildly inconvenient but all in all I really enjoyed staying here and will definitely return. For my money, it is my favourite accommodation in Hobart to date.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Caroline L

Thank you for taking the time to review our Gibson’s Mill apartments. As you noticed, touches like L'Occitane toiletries, original artwork and automatic lights in public areas are important to us.
We recognise the check-in process for some of our apartments is a little inconvenient and we are currently working to streamline the process.

Warm regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in a fabulous two-storey apartment with balcony on the third floor of this renovated historic building in April 2013. Not long open when we stayed, this apartment epitomises the sensitive and thoughtful renovation of this charming old mill in a quiet street on the edge of Salamance Place. While the entry is a little bland, there are unique touches that hark back to the building's past, like the strong-room door still evident in the third floor foyer. The heritage of the building is immediately apparent upon entering the apartment, with beams, original windows and a cathedral ceiling featuring in the lounge/dining area. The well-appointed kitchen, incudes extra touches such as napery for the full-size dining table. The main bedroom down stairs has privacy and adjoins the luxe full-size bathroom. Up the circular iron staircase is the open-plan second bedroom and large ensuite, as well as entry to the balcony with wonderful views across Sullivans Cove and Salamance Place. Stunning design throughout - clean and modern with touches of colour - enhanced by some spectacular artworks. The location is brilliant - 2 mins walk to the ferry to MONA and 3 mins walk around the corner to Daci and Daci, which has to be the best bakery/cofee shop in the southern hemisphere. While acknowledging that parking on-site would be preferable to off-site, nonetheless the short walk takes you through the heart of pretty Salamanca Cove. We will definately come back next time we're in Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear LouHippo
Thank you for your review of your stay at Gibson’s Mill. We appreciate your comments and glad that you enjoyed the original heritage touches that have been maintained in the apartments. We also notice that you discovered the nearby Daci & Daci bakery - delicious!!
We are working on the onsite parking and hope to have this available in the future. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for a few nights in the Salamanca Dockside Apartments. They can be tricky to find but if the stars are shining navigation shouldn't be a problem. Apartment was very nicely fit out and decorated. It was downright swanky. Great location with immediate access to Salamanca and all that entails.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a wonderful location and a lovely sense of arrival. We managed, with the help of the hire car GPS, to find the little car park behind the apartments at Dockside Salamanca. How impressed was my husband when we walked across a little bridge, down some steps and towards the stone building where our very spacious 2 bedroom apartment was waiting.
Incredibly clean, very comfortable beds, warm, modern furniture, frosted glass walls, original stone walls. The kitchen was incredibly outfitted with everything you could possibly want.
There are parts of the apartment that are dark, and being in the kitchen at night is a little mysterious as you can't really see what you are doing.
This apartment is in a PERFECT location. Just a short walk to the city and most importantly the ferry to MONA. I am almost loathe to highly recommend this apartment as it will only help the popularity of the place and I would really like to go back. Although you pay the top price for accommodation, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We had the apartment number 2. It would be almost impossible for a person with a mobility disabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback.
We are so glad you had a great stay, the stone walls are a nice feature in these Apartments.
The location is fantastic with so many good restaurants close by and as you noted easy walking distance to the harbour attractions like the MONA ferry and other Cruise operators.
Perhaps the dark/mysterious kitchen is a great motivator to head out and enjoy one of the great restaurants in the area!!!
I can understand you are reluctant to recommend the Apartments to avoid making them too popular, however we have many other great apartments so we look forward to having you stay again.
Warm regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed recently in the Admirals suite above the Drunken Admiral restaurant. A very nice 2 bedroom apartment with a mix of traditional decor and contemporary kitchen and bedrooms. Was a great spot to relax and sloth around between meals at the great number of terrific restaurants in easy walking distance. Very good wifi. Only drawbacks for me were internal noise from room above and lack of TV channel choice (only the basic free to air channels). Notwithstanding, I would certainly come back here it has character and a top location.

Room Tip: If the noise from outside the restaurant will bother you dont ask for the dockside rooms. frankly it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in IXL 2 bedroom executive apartment and it was very spacious and comfortable. We were travelling with our two young adult daughters and there was plenty of space for everyone. It was well appointed and located. We found the check-in very efficient the staff were helpful. The location was great for us - walking to Mona Ferry, Bruny Island Cruises, Salamanca Place etc. Jam Packed Cafe downstairs was a very good convenient breakfast location. Overall we it was felt good value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments

Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivans Cove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.