We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choise for Hobart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivans Cove Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sullivans Cove Apartments to your Saves list
Sullivans Cove Apartments
5.0 of 5 Kashi Besso (Rental House)   |   5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A good choise for Hobart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in the Admirals Sullivan Cover apartment. The apartment is sleek with very new and modern amenities.

It is located right on top of the Drunken Admiral and easy walk to everything (Salamanca Market, Museum) and easy drive to the Royal Botanic Gardens.

This is a perfect location for Hobart. Plenty of restaraunts, shops and art around to look at.

The only downside is the walls are a bit thin and could hear the apartment above us while trying to go to sleep but that can be fixed with a noise app on your phone.

Good value for money and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
The Admiral's Suite is a particularly spacious apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large deck. The front windows have great views across Hunter St to the fishing boats. We're glad it was such a good choice for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    103
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
91
83
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at this place over the Easter weekend. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment at the end of Kelly Street, Battery Point overlooking Salamanca Place.

The apartment is fitted out beautifully, almost like staying at your own home. The apartment is on the second level of a building on Salamanca Place. Apartment 1 consists of two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a fully contained kitchen and a nice sitting areas with comfortable couches.

Two large wooden doors open out over Salamanca Place with gives fantastic views of the market place on saturday morning. A nice place to sit and eat breakfast and enjoy the views.

This place is good for a family, however it may not suit couples as much. The main bathroom has glass walls. Unfortunately someone has decided that it would be good if artistic circles were cut in them, leaving gaping wholes for people to look in. Whilst mature people wont have an issue, those who would like a smidgen of privacy should avoid staying in the second room.

The location is second to none, on the waterfront and very close to the numerous bars and restaurants that exist in the area. Can't recommend highly enough.

This is an executive apartment.

Room Tip: Apartment 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at one of Salamanca Dockside apartments. They are fantastic apartments right on Salamanca Place, beautifully renovated and decorated spaces housed in the historic sandstone warehouses in this vibrant district. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Sullivans Cove Apartments are a number of different apartments located around the Dock/ city areas. We stayed at Gibson Mills which is a converted flour warehouse. These apartments were clean, comfortable, well located, good heating, had everything you need for a few days stay. But on the downside, they were naturally dark with very little light; small windows; and all exacerbated by dark furniture and furnishings. It didn't matter how much light was on, it was still an overall feeling of being like a mushroom. For this reason, I wouldn't stay here again ... we travel to Hobart at least once a year, so I am running out of options for places to stay. However, if darkness doesn't worry you, then they're fine. Make sure you have breakfast at Daci Daci Bakery (see my review).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
As our Gibson's Mill location is very new we have encouraged all of our guests to provide us with feedback so that we can make any necessary adjustments or add things we may have overlooked. This feedback has resulted in the installation of full length mirrors, more bathroom shelving and more lighting. We do have 4 other locations around Hobart's waterfront, one of them may suit your next visit to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Victoria Austrlia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

With the crazy check in our of the way we walked only about 400 meters to the Gibson Mill Apartments which was an amazing location right between the CBD and Salamanca. The hotel must have been freshly painted or renovated because there was an amazing smell of fresh paint.
What I can I say? Everything was perfect!! It is seriously above 4 stars!
the bedding was the best I have slept in!
Just wonderful! Please conciser this hotel! I will be coming back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. Gibson's Mill is very new and we're glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Check in for all of our 5 locations is at our office on Hunter St but all of the apartments are close by, especially Gibson's Mill, less than 10 minutes on foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic, well appointed apartment. Super comfortable beds. Great position, particularly for the Mona Ferry and proximity to Salamanca place. it was an easy walk to the main shopping centre too. We will recommend and we will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a westerly facing room on the top level, it was light filled. The rooms on the easterly side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our newest location-Gibson's Mill. Gibson's Mill has only been open for a couple of months and as you say are in a great location central to all the waterfront and Salamanca have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in serviced penthouse IXL apartment 501 which features a panoramic view of this beautiful harbour upstairs with an outdoor BBQ area living room with Shaub Lorenz TV Miele coffee machine and three bedrooms downstairs. The best thing about this fantastic apartment was the deepest bath imaginable able to accommodate my tall frame

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the bath, they are really great in all of the IXL apartments! The penthouses in the IXL building all boast excellent views of the waterfront and all our apartments are centrally located in and around Hobart's waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have just spent a really enjoyable two nights in the IXL apartments behind the Henry Jones Art Hotel. We loved the location down on the docks and the easy accessibility to everything. We loved the fabulous staff who were so helpful, even putting themselves out when we were late getting back to pick up our bags. And most of all we loved the way that we felt instantly at home when we walked into the apartment. I was travelling with my Dad as a treat for his 60th birthday and we were able to host friends in 'our' apartment. We enjoyed the penthouse view, the balcony and light filled living space. The beds were fantastic and the bathrooms gorgeous. A great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always great to read that our apartments have provided an excellent experience for our guests. All of our apartments are big enough for guests to host family or friends for dinner or a quiet drink before heading out to a nearby restaurant. We hope your dad enjoyed his birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments

Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivans Cove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.