We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse had amzaing view but master bedroom was noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivans Cove Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sullivans Cove Apartments to your Saves list
Sullivans Cove Apartments
5.0 of 5 Kashi Besso (Rental House)   |   5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Penthouse had amzaing view but master bedroom was noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse, views were amazing but we didn't get much sleep in the master bedroom as it faced a lane way and were woken up every morning with the sound of rubbish and delivery trucks. Was lovely place, very clean, coffee machine didn't make very good coffee, rooms were clean, great daily servicing and close to restaurants. We loved the Drunken Admiral Restaurant and Timeless Way just downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
One of the advantages of our apartments is their central locations and proximaty to the Hobart waterfront. This is a bustling precinct and though certainly not as loud as comparable areas in mainland cities for Hobart there is a fair amount of activity in these areas. The IXL 2 bedroom penthouses do have bedrooms that do not face onto the central IXL courtyard and some of our other apartments are located in areas with a little less action. Call the office if you are concerned about noise and we will do the best we can to steer you in the direction of something suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    121
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
109
101
1
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights fabulous apartment 2bedrooms sep kit and dinning 2bathrooms very well layed out big.Situated right on the Docks only down side the view roof tops but other than that great handy to restatraunts recommend the Fish Frenzy for Lunch beautiful fresh fish meals and treat yourself to a bottle of Inn Cider local made scrumpy style cider love it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in an IXL Executive apartment. As you noted the apartments are spacious and well laid out. They are very convenient to everything the Hobart waterfront has to offer. For uninterupted water views book an IXL penthouse next time as they are on the 5th floor of the same building and have 2 levels of luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We paid a premium for unit 2b, above the admiral Duncan restaurant. What a relief to actually stay in good quality, modern, well appointed and fully fitted-out accommodation. Having stayed at the Henry Jones previously, this 2 bedroom apartment was far superior - ideal for a family with 2 kids.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
2B or Harbourside is a staff favourite! Very conveniently located on Hunter St with great views of the fishing boats it is as well appointed as all of our other apartments located around Hobart's waterfront. With 32 apartments there is plenty to choose from for everyone-from families to corporate travellers to friends travelling down to see MONA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Sullivan's Cove Apartments a great deal. I was greeted by wonderful friendly staff at the front desk/check in & the housekeeping service was efficient & thorough. I stayed in an IXL sub-penthouse & loved the view as well as the modern feel of the apartment. Great bathrooms & very comfy bed. Not right in amongst the Hobart action but this is ideal as everything you could want is very close by & it's quiet. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
The IXL sub-penthouse is certainly a good choice of apartment-on 2 levels with living up and bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs. It's a happpy medium between and IXL Executive and an IXL Penthouse and the views are good! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we look forward to welcoing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We have just returned from a week in Hobart staying at Sullivans Cove Apartments. The apartment was modern and fully equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfy. The apartment is tastefully furnished and has great views overlooking the harbor. Great position centrally located an easy walk to lots of good restaurants. Our whole family loved it & we would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Small building all rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Sullivans Cove Apartments, it's great that you enjoyed your stay so much! We have 32 apartments around the waterfront in Hobart and they are all well appointed and very convenient to most of the activities in Hobart. Some are at Salamanca and very handy to the Saturday market and some have fantastic water views. With so much to choose from we recommend future guests call reception so we can help choose the apartment which will best suit their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Don't be deceived by the lack of outward appearance of these apartments!! You'll be surprised!

A very nice stay for a family with small children. There were ample space for them to exhert their energy and the furnishings are updated and of good quality. We were pleasantly surprised by the high quality in their bathroom supplies and top quality utensils and cockery. The electric controls for blinds and lights are sophisticated and high tech. The receptionists were very helpful. The cleaners refurbishes the supplies (fresh towels and soaps etc) and bed daily. The two bedrooms were also spacious enough to have a rollaway bed added. As a bonus, you have access to free internet in the apartments!!

The Apartments are in quite strategic location. You are able to walk to Salamanca Place where you will find a variety of good dining options as well a the Saturday Salamanca Place. When you have tried finding parking around the area, you'll understand the benefit of staying in a service apartment within walking distance. Yet the apartment is not right in the middle of all the action and therefore you can enjoy peaceful quietness in your sleep.

The only downside was the lack of exercise facilities. There is no gym or swimming pool in the building. But given there are ample exercise opportunities (such as cycling and hiking) it didn't really bother us at all. HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. It's fantastic to hear that our apartments are as well suited to families as they are to corporate travellers and couples. All of our apartments come with complimentary parking which means you can leave the car and walk to all of the nearby sites and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Apartment very spacious. View very limited. Staff friendly and helpful when asked. But we had to ask. Service slack. This is a 4-5 Star Hotel I thought our sheets would be changed every three days. Alas no, nor were the beds made every day. The floor remained uncleaned for many of the 7 days and after two days we had to ask for fresh towels. I would have thought we could get a small bottle of milk a day or at least little pods of long-lasting milk. But no the milk was only for the first night. Oh yes, there was a vacuum and a broom and a washing up machine.But for over $300 a night, I mistakenly thought we would be looked after - started to feel a bit of a nuisance really! We had asked for an apartment with two bedrooms and two bathrooms on one level because at 80 and 73 we are a bit wobbly in the legs and when we got there found that our bedrooms and bathrooms were down about 8-10 stairs. To do them justice, they thought they were giving us a room with a view. So that was the first trip to the office - to see if someone could take our suitcases down. I don't know what you think but after a while you become a bit sensitive to continually having to run to the office to ask for service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us as much as many of our other Trip Advisor reviewers and certainly most of our other guests. If we are not mistaken you stayed in an IXL sub penthouse (as booked by your travel agent) which is on 2 levels. These apartments are on the 4th floor of the IXL building and have good views of the waterfront but for totally unobstructed water views we encourage guests to book the IXL penthouses which are on the 5th floor of the IXL building. Both of these apartment types are on two levels so we also encourage guests with mobility issues to book the IXL Executive apartments as they are on one level and the building is lift accessible. We provide milk for guests on arrival but do not replenish it everyday as most guests staying with us enjoy the self contained nature of our accommodation and do their own food shopping; we let guests know this upon arrival. We provide a light housekeeping daily except Sundays and only do not service the apartments if guests request us not to as was the case with you on one of the days you stayed with us (one of your partly was asleep). Our housekeepers did provide you with a full clean of your apartment at your request during the middle of the week that you were here. We do offer self contained luxury accommodation and a staff member is in the office during business hours 7 days/week and available on our after hours emergency number 24 hours/day. We encourage our guests to let us know of anything we can do to make their stay exceptional and are always available on the phone to help if the office is closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments

Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivans Cove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.