We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, clean, and relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel to your Saves list
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   41 Barrack Street | Corner Barrack and Goulburn Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Special
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Very friendly, clean, and relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The hostel is roomy, quiet, and very clean. I liked that both younger and older people seem to stay here--it's a nice mix. People really use the living room to hang out, watch TV, read, etc. The ownership is easy going and friendly. The kitchen has everything I needed to cook my own meals, plenty of room to store food, and is thoroughly cleaned every day. It's within a 15 minute walk of pretty much everything in town. I felt very comfortable here. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, General Manager at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello my American Friend:)

It's people like you that make me want to stand up early in the morning and open the hostel for a long but fun day at work. Your words are so extremly nice and we are happy that you experienced your stay like this with us. It's true our hostel is loved by young Backpackers, Married Couples and even grandparents with their grandchilderen. It al mix up perfectly like you described. If you are ever coming back to Tasmania, don't forget to give us a call or send us an email:)

Thijs Emmerik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    119
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
51
138
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at a female only room. The room was clean and tidy. The staff was also friendly and kind.
However, in my 2nd night, 2 male stayed at female room. They were really noisy, kept open the door even in the night, and spoke loudly. I couldn't sleep well. Next morning I tried to ask to the hostel about it, but I couldn't because they were closed in early morning and I had to leave there.
I can't understand why boys stayed at female room. The hostel haven't explained about that yet. I think they should check their booking more carefully and return fee to me (Female only room is more expensive than mix room).What happened? I can't understand entirely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello,
I just have read your comments about your stay, if you stay in room 9 & 11 it would be just for ladies. I cannot explain why was a man over night in there, some people are smart !!! enough to book a ladies room and ( later - night) bring a man for some reason !!!
We have a night person, for emergencies and special cases as such, but he wouldn't know what's going on if guests do not complain about.
I only can say this case in indeed odd.
thank you again for your stay with us.
Kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took the Hobart City Transfer from the airport cost AUD 17 per person, and was transferred right in front of the Hobart Hostel Accommodation. The reception was really friendly, and we were allowed to check in early at about 11 am. We stayed there only one night, 23-24 Dec 2013.

We stayed in their private room with a shared bathroom (cost AUD 70 for the two of us). We like our room so much, we love the street view from our room. Yes it was a little bit noisy, but we could sleep well.

The hostel was not that central, it's about 15 minutes walking to the city center. We rented a bike to explore Hobart and the hostel could provide a parking place for our bikes. Great! You may find our story exploring Hobart by bike in our travelblog tesyasblog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cosy place about 15mins away from Hobart CBD. Hostel is clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. I did really appreciate that I didn't get charged for two nights when I missed my flight and informed the manager only with a couple of hours notice and only arrived the next day. Nice surprise is the free WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My mother (who has never stayed in a hostel) and I stayed here for a week.

We had our own room which had amenities, which were clean and well presented. Linen was fresh and clean.

Upon arrival, we were given a tour if the place, greeted warmly. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
Kitchen has utensils galore and a massive fridge/freezer.

Security is a bonus!

A short walk into town, fast free wifi and a great location.

This hostel is of a high standard, highly recommended.
If ever I come back- ill stay again.
Thanks
Joanne and Judith

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great Service, the rooms were clean and the location is fantastic. Just a short walk to Salamanca and an even shorter walk to the bus terminal (to catch the airport shuttle). They have free Wifi which is a plus. Would definitely consider staying there again the next time we're in Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello,
thank you for your stay with us, there is nothing to add about your review, you have had a great time your us, which is what we try to do everyday to our guests.
Hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Regards
tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked a room with a king bed based on the website description, as it was the same price as the double and queen rooms. When I arrived, I was given a room with a single bed that they said was somehow a king. However, they did move me to a room with a double bed when I requested it. Front desk staff were a bit difficult to deal with, but the place was clean (including the shared bathrooms) and was otherwise a good deal.

Room Tip: Beware the rooms marketed as king rooms - they contain a single bed rather than a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello,
I did not have the opportunity to meet you, as you have arrived late and leave earlier.
why so much winging, when your reservation was for a KING SINGLE BED - private room -shared facilities ??? and the night manager have re-allocate you for a double bed ??? at no extra costs !!!! do your believe your coments are constructive !!!
kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

Address: 41 Barrack Street | Corner Barrack and Goulburn Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" COZY FAMILY RUN HOSTEL - IN THE CITY CENTER "FREE INTERNET & WI-FI 24/7 PLUS TICKETS PRINTING.quality Backpacker - Friendly Environment - Budget Travelar - Groups Paradise. We make sure everyone feels welcome and pride ourselves in having a clean and well presented Hostel offering all guests a relaxing and secure experience. Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, caters to a maximum of 62 guests with our higher standard of accommodation - All rooms have ample space and natural light - We provide an open lounge where gathering and socializing is part of your memorable stay.We provide accommodation from mix dormitories up to full private Queen bed en-suite - In addition, we have laundry facilities available at a modest cost, and provide free coffee & tea all day.hobart's Accommodation & Hostel; is highly rated and recommended on travel feedback sites. " SURPRISE AND TREAT YOURSELF "A Stone's throw from the Mall, Salamanca market, cinemas, shops, restaurants, bus terminus, main Hospital, 20 minutes from airport. PLUS, everything else our beautiful Capital city has to offer.Full information & display what to do while in our wonderful, wild & Natural treasure Island. Your showers will ALWAYS be HOT - we have GASthere is a bus service from hobart airport direct to our front door. PROPERTY FEATURES:1 - boardand internet Access / Wi-Fi2 - Non-Smoking Rooms3 - Street parking; Free at night time & weekends (99.99% safe)4 - Personalize service by the owners/operaters. "We run the show " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart`s Accommodation And Hostel
Hobart`s Hotel Hobart
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.