We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Wellington

Mount Wellington
Pinnacle Road, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$66*
and up
Mountain Bike Tour from Hobart
Ranked #2 of 46 Attractions in Hobart
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

didn't like driving up but worth the trip for the magnificent view (we beat the mist/cloud - it was blown away)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,167
    458
    48
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Boy oh Boy was it cold up top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a lovely drive up to Mount Wellington, about 20 minutes from Hobart's city centre. There is ample parking. There was snow up top when we visited and the wind was strong and freezing. But we had a ball. Coming from Queensland we never experience cold weather like this. But, if you have the right warm clothes, including gloves and scarves you will love it. Well worth the drive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“2 degrees C, rally drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

It was raining lightly and we could nt see the top of Mount Wellington, but we decided to go for a drive and have some fun sliding around corners till we got to the top Just so I could run out climb the top of the mountain peak marker to take a selfie. When the rain cleared briefly the view is spectacular over looking Hobart. No one on the Mountain and a fun drive back down through mist and fog.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sleet on a Sunny Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Well Worth The Drive, Views were excellent and the Sleet and cold were actually enjoyable. Best Toilet Facilities with a unique setting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wodonga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Very Windy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

So glad we did Mt Wellington but we picked a bad day. It was 'extremely' windy and bitterly cold and I had to hold my 7 year old's hand in fear of him being blown away! I've never experienced an ear ache as bad as that because of the cold wind. Spectacular views though. We found out it snowed there the next day! Despite this, we would go up again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Wellington also viewed

 

Been to Mount Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.