We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meeting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Skies - CLOSED

Blue Skies
Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Brasserie, Café
Restaurant details
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a good meeting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very consistent food and service, it's a great place to catch up with friends and family in a casual setting overlooking the water.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good - busy atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We enjoyed our daughter's birthday dinner here on holiday in Hobart. It was a lovely meal but not the one I had been expecting. Serving sizes moderate. Not a huge range of seafood dishes. The oysters were good. It was very busy but the service - despite a poor waitress dropping wine - was very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Watch your wine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked a work dinner at this venue recently, and we were placed in the lovely function room overlooking the wharf and water - a fantastic view! The staff (as always) were very attentive. It was a lovely place to be, and the staff didn't seem to mind when we lingered after finishing our meals.

We had a set menu, and the food was of good quality. The drinks were a bit pricey though, and at the end of our meal I saw one staff member pouring the remains of our white wine(borttle) into another bottle and putting it back in the fridge (for resale?)! I must admit this has coloured my view of the night somewhat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“pricey and not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

didntreally enjoy my meal menu was a littlemisleading and when i ordered did not get what i was expecting and very very pricey havnt been back again

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service for family birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I did all the bookings by phone and email from Canberra - everything went smoothly. Great service on the day. Children well catered for both with food and activities (colouring in). Had private room with lovely outlook onto the water. Birthday girl had a great day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Skies also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Skies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.