We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go overseas when paradise is right here in South Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LifeTime Private Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LifeTime Private Retreats to your Saves list
LifeTime Private Retreats
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Rsd 26 North Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Kangaroo Island, South Australia SA5223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
South Australia
1 review
“Why go overseas when paradise is right here in South Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I'm a South Australian and have travelled to some of the most beautiful island destinations in the world; Fiji, Samoa, Borneo and many other beachfront locations including Australia's own north Queensland islands, but I have to say, I was truly amazed to find such a magnificent location sitting right on my doorstep. The Cliff house took my breath away the moment I walked in the door. Its strong Mediterranean, cool feel instantly threw me into relaxed holiday mode. The view from the lounge room is honestly one of the best I have ever encountered due to the blue/green waters below, the white sandy beach with your own private path, rustic natural surroundings and simply the sheer solitude it offers. And what can I say about the cliff face jacuzzi; a perfect beach view by day and a million stars at night. The talking point of the house itself for me was the bedroom tower, lying in bed in the morning and looking straight out to sea and hearing the waves with the window open at night and underneath that, the sunken pit complete with pillows, "shaggy" rug, TV and stereo system, both romantic and yet the kids will absolutely love it.
I highly recommend the cliff house. It is a unique experience right here in South Australia, you really don't need to head overseas.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The cliff house offers stunning views, is large but still cosy, has it own private little walkway to the beach.
Nick and team are perfect hosts, we were extremely well looked after.
Great and extremely tasty cooking and not to forget the saturday night "shearing feast dinner".
A very memorable part of our 6 1/2 week long Australia vacation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We have just come back to the 'real world' after a week-long honeymoon staying in the Sky House. There's not much more to say other than "perfect".

Driving into the area the house was visible sitting perched on top of a large hill with panoramic views. Once up the hill, it was breathtaking to see the view on offer. This view was a feature from all aspects of the house and only enhanced the decor and ambience of the place even more (if that was even possible).

Everything was so comfortable and all you could need, plus more, was easily on hand. The service recieved from Nick and Lisa was incomparable with any other - the personal touches on arrival we well appreciated, but the mouth-watering delivery meals were the highlight.

With so many attractions on the island it was hard to find the time to relax enough at the house! We did find plenty of time to spend at the beautiful beach below, unhindered by many people.

One down side to the stay - the wind was awfully loud (STRONG!) on a few nights. I'm sure if there was anything that could be done about that it would be done though!

We will certainly be back!

*as a side note: if staying at the Life-time houses, if possible you should take the time to have lunch at the Rockpool Cafe at nearby Stokes Bay. The food was awesome and the friendly service was unmatched.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold location
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We just returned from two weeks in Australia, and although I'm a bit jet-lagged, I didn't want to delay in posting my positive thoughts about LifeTime private retreats. As a bit of context, our trip included time in Sydney, Byron Bay, Kangaroo Island and Burrawang West Station at locations consistently rated as top hotels/resorts in Australia.

Our group included over a dozen family members, including grandparents, couples, young kids and singles. Our group included a couple professional chefs, owners of a restaurant and other foodies, all of whom have traveled the world. All of that sums up to a group with high expectations regarding service and food. LifeTime blew away our expectations and delivered an amazing experience.

We stayed in the Cliff and Stone houses. Each was unique in its own manner and provided amazing views. The Cliff house is located just above a majestic beach which is accessible by a private stairway. These were actually homes that were lived in by the owners when they were kids and you definitely feel the warmth. They owners tailored the experience for us. Whether it was a personalized CD playing in the house upon our arrival, yoga sessions overlooking the beach, offering babysitting services or adjusting excursions and schedules based on anticipated weather, the owners went our of their way to make sure we had every personal touch possible. We had dinner in the Sheering Shed, and while it's hard to describe, imagine the original facade, cleaned to allow for relaxation and comfort and filled with unique mementos from the owner's past. The experience was made even more amazing as our walk up to the Shed was watched by several kangaroos who were walking in the fields. While nothing that LifeTime could officially control, they did schedule the event at the Shed in the evening, knowing it would be more likely that the kangaroos would be out at that time.

Now to the food...as our family talked about all of the food we had on the trip we unanimously agreed that the food at LifeTime was the best - both from a freshness and a variety perspective. Whether it was the fresh fruit and breads at breakfast, the hand-picked figs from the fig tree undernneath which we at lunch, or sashimi and fish tacos from the day's deep sea fishing adventure, our group of foodies was consistently blown away. As I mentioned above, our group also included several young kids (3 yrs, 2 yrs and 7 months) and LifeTime went out of their way to prepare special dishes and food for them on a daily basis. It was largely based on the food the adults ate, so everyone feasted well.

As a note, while we were traveling as a big family and with kids, this would also be an amazing place for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Either of the houses we stay in or their third house (the Sky House) would provide a fantastically romantic setting.

I could keep writing, but I know that folks reach a limit when reading. Therefore, I'll wrap things up here. In summary, this place is awesome.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We had the pleasure of spending three nights in the Sky House as part of our honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice. The accommodation is breathtaking and totally blew my mind, there are so many treats and surprises (not going to detail them here as wouldn't like to spoil it for anyone else) but trust me this is a magnificent place.

Very secluded and romantic everything you'd expect for a honeymoon - I adored the Sky House.

Lisa and Nick (the hosts) are awesome and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

beautiful home with great views , very romantic , very private .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is a sensational venue for a quiet few days away. Amazing location and 5 star accomodation (we stayed at the "Sky House"). We chose the package with breakfast and evening meals delivered - wonderful food from a small and interesting menu. Nick and staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The turntable and eclectic vinyl selection was a nice touch. Kangaroo Island is a place of great natural beauty and we visited most of the key attractions, but the beach in front is a good as any you could imagine, so you don't have to travel far if you don't want to. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickhannaford, owner manager at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
Just a quick note to thank you for you fantastic review.Im glad you enjoyed it.

Warm regards,

nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to LifeTime Private Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LifeTime Private Retreats

Address: Rsd 26 North Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Kangaroo Island, South Australia SA5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LifeTime Private Retreats 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Island paradise where you can choose to stay at one of four Luxury beach villas set on their own stunning coastal Kangaroo Island estates, a place of complete privacy, well away from other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your LifeTime Private Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LifeTime Private Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.