We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see if on Kangaroo Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raptor Domain

Raptor Domain
58 Seal Bay Rd | Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
+61 8 8559 5108
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN 10:30-4:00 Daily inc Public Holidays (Closed Christmas Day) Raptor Domain is a rehabilitation education centre and is the Ultimate, Interactive Wildlife Experience. We do not display animals in cages. Interaction and viewing of animals only during presentations. Venom Pit Presentation: 10:30 45 min This is an amazing look at Venom and the creatures that use it. ENTER IF YOU DARE!! Birds of Prey Presentations: 11:30 and 2:30 1hr Join us for an inspiring, interactive and educational experience. Get up close and personal with some of our beautiful Birds of Prey. Owls,Falcons,Eagles,Kookaburras and much more. Put on a glove and have our birds fly to you. Or hold our majestic eagle for a photo. Fang-Tastic Reptile presentation 1:00pm 45min Hold and enjoy an up close and personal experience with some of Australia's enchanting reptiles. Join us for 1,2 or all 3 presentations. Great photo opportunities, Fun for the whole family. Food available on site from the Gourmet food van.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must see if on Kangaroo Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

There was a small group of us and we were all mezmerized with the show. You get an up close and personal look of the birds, not just staring at cages. The knowledge of the keeper was second to none and we came away with much more than we thought we would. The girl at the kiosk was very personable and so friendly and we had a chat for quite some time. We just want to say thankyou! and we hope that more people visit and support what you do. It is not a zoo, it is an education and needs to be supported by all. Great for kids to be detectives for the day and find different objects around the park. Thankyou we will be back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    38
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
“Must-See und Kangaroo Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were there in a small group of four people and the Raptor Domain is really a MUST-SEE on Kangaroo Island. So amazing!
You don't just walk around seeing birds in cages, but you get really close to the animals and see them in their natural environment. It was not just a typical tourist attraction but a very nice show with a lot of information and even the opportunity to let one of the birds sit on your lap or arm.
Thank you for this wonderful experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“MAZDA MX5 CLUB AT KANGAROO ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our group of 29 were all enthralled by the show and have returned home raving to all their family and friends about the experience. It was very educational and we all loved the way that children were asked to interact with the birds. Even some adults got to experience this. The trainers do such a wonderful job with the birds and we all learnt so much about the birds. The white owl, Casper just stole the show and most peoples hearts.
We had been supplied with a lovely morning tea for a gold coin donation. This is a place that must not be missed when visiting Kangaroo Island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“So great I am planning another visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This is amazing. Went with hubby and kids (6 & 3) and it was great. Got the ultimate package to see both the reptiles and raptors and the presentation was incredible. Was fun, informative and even hands on.
The kids really enjoyed being wildlife detectives.
I will be coming back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to both bird and reptile shows and highly recommend this experience! The kids of all ages will definitely enjoy this show as well as adults who love wildlife. The guides tell you all the information about each bird/reptile and then allow everybody to participate and interact with animals (the exceptions are baby lizards,a very shy python, falcon and eagle who have contact only with the guides).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raptor Domain also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
 

Been to Raptor Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raptor Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.