We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge Dbl Room: Basic but unique and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Chase Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flinders Chase Farm
Save
You added Flinders Chase Farm to your Saves list
1561 West End Hwy, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lodge Dbl Room: Basic but unique and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We booked the lodge double room with own bathroom. The bathroom was open air but we had our privacy. The room itself was furnished with a queen bed and site tables. No wardrobe or carbinet thus language need to placed on the floor. All over it was a clean room. Note all water comes from a water tank outside so it smells a bit but it is clean to cook with it. Kitchen facilities are used but clean however we brought our own pots and pan.
BYO food and drinks and cash to pay. Also everything on KI is overpriced.
Location of the farm is great as it is in the center of the island and maybe a 15 min drive to the main visitor center where you need to buy day tickets for the park.
On the farm you will find heaps of big kangaroos there are just a few meters away from you where you will sit and eat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011 via mobile

Good hostel. In reaction to former reviews: in backpackers world, the hostel owners are sometimes inpolite, but usually ok and not especially friendly. If you want excellent service, try to find a very good hostel (they're rare but they're there) or check in in a lovely hotel (i.e. pay more).
This hostel is just fine. You get what you pay for. I loved the kitchen and showers. Clean. One sink in the bathroom is not enough. Beautifully situated. I do recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
Yes one sink per bathroom is not enough and I will ensure a second sink and mirror is fitted.
Regards
Kerryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

The location is nice and the rooms are pretty neat. The problem was the bugs. The ceiling is just aluminum which allowed for tons of ants (I think?) to crawl in and end up all along the edges of the bed and on the wall and even in the shower. They could be swept off and didn't bite or bother, but I found it very uncomfortable to share my room and bed with so many insects.
In respect to other areas, the kitchen facilities were quite nice, and they even had campfire pits.The bathrooms are kinda outside but attached to the rooms, with natural sunlight, and we found the water to be plenty warm when desired. The heater was difficult to work and didn't keep the room very warm, but then most hostels do not provide heat so this was not a big issue.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
Yes bugs & insects are seasonal for us here and fortunately does not last long.
Generally the insects are attracted to the lights so turning them off in your roof is helpful if not in use.
But the outside, security and community shared lights are most of the time left on for the benefit of all guests. It is a tricky one to manage as we do not use any chemical deterents.
Heater instructions will be more understandable and we find that if all curtains in rooms are closed it does help keep room warm. Extra blankets can be obtained from reception if needed aswell.
Regards
Kerryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

Stayed in the hostel for one night in January in a twin room. Our first impression was the woman who checked us in who was polite, but not friendly at all. Our room was ok, but it was clear that cleanliness was not a high priority in the hostel which is too bad. The common area with a TV and a table was nice with wood on the walls, but not great. The kitchen is small and easily crowded. A stereo is provided in the kitchen, but no noise policy is provided. We were there at the same time as a large group and they wanted to play the radio very loud all evening. The bathrooms only have one sink and two toilets in both the mens and womens bathrooms. These represent all of the facilities for up to 22 guest in the hostel and the cabins.

Overall, it was a very convenient place to stay. However, I would probably not stay in the hostel again and instead would look for other options.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear about your concern for the cleaniness of our accommodation. Cleaniness is very high for us and I appologise for your discomfort, this is an exception and not the rule for cleaniness.

In regards to our hostel bathrooms, we have two toilets and two showers in both shared female amd male bathrooms. We believe this is the correct number required for bathroom amenities for the number of guests at full occupancy in our hostel. Tho an extra basin will be fitted in each bathroom. We appologise for any inconvenience a guest experiences for wait time while other guests are using the shared facilities.

Noise levels generally have not been a issue, we have found most of our guests are considerate of each other. On the rare occasions that we have had to deal with loud nosie levels those concerned have been understandable and have kept their noise at a respectfull level. We are more than happy to intervene on behalf of guests if asked.
Regards
Kerryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed in a double cabin for 1 night. The cabin had basic kitchen facilities & the bathroom facilities were shared. The location is just off the main road, but is very peaceful. The two dogs were very friendly, almost too friendly! The 'tropical' bathrooms were clean & there were outside bbqs that we could have used.

  • Liked — Look & feel
  • Disliked — Over-excitable dogs!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank You for your review, it is much appreciated.

Yes, some times our visitors, friends and workers dogs do behave in an excitable manner. Generally all of them are aware of our dog policy which is to make sure dogs behave and are restrained in a suitable manner for the benefits and safety of our guests. this is a rare occurrence.
regards
Kerryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flinders Chase Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Chase Farm

Address: 1561 West End Hwy, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Chase Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.