We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty old Harry!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crocodile Harry’s Underground Nest

Crocodile Harry’s Underground Nest
Coober Pedy, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17 Attractions in Coober Pedy
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Werribee, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dirty old Harry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The story behind this man and his lifestyle was interesting!! All the souvenirs left behind by visitors to this mans home just add to the madness of his lifestyle.... Worth the trip

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxby Downs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Harry was one hell of a character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The legend of Harry lives on in this unique dug out, every square inch of this place has a story to tell and much of it quite eye opening! He was obviously a man of many faces, a few that spring to mind include opal miner, adventurer, artist, innovator and with no doubt, one hell of a pants man! If only the walls could speak...
Would not recommend Harrys for prudish types and not the most suitable place for kids but definitely an interesting insight into the life and lifestyle of a very colourful character, highly recommended for anyone with an open mind.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Sure...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Harry's by way of a recommendation and a promise of "you won't be disappointed" - but I found it all a bit pointless. Yes it was unique but I can't say it was interesting. There just seemed to be loads of tat everywhere and someone basking in their own antics and sexual prowess - although my husband seemed to get a kick out of it.

If you happen to be in the area, then sure drop in and take a peek. But I wouldn't go out of my way for a visit, there are way more interesting places to visit in Coober Pedy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place was interesting, but I would not recommend for children. It shows part of the life of one of the miners that came to Coober Pedy


Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Whaty a mighty bloke was our Harry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What can you say-you have to see it to believe it- Harry was a legend in his own life and has thousands of pairs of ladies knickers pinned to his roof to prove it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crocodile Harry’s Underground Nest also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Crocodile Harry’s Underground Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crocodile Harry’s Underground Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.