We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Accommodation Experience in Coober Pedy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience to your Saves list
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Crowders Gully Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding Accommodation Experience in Coober Pedy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Exceptionally clean, fully underground motel just off main street with off-street parking. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, naturally cool and totally quiet for a guaranteed good night's rest. Friendly, family owned business who make a point of remembering you from previous stays. Lots to see as the hotel merges with an old opal mine. Free Wi-Fi internet.  A great experience that you will long remember (my fifth stay over 4 years).

Room Tip: The internal rooms have two walls that are not rock (the others only have one) so they may not be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A refreshing place to stay especially from the heat. The hosts were very welcoming and we were made to feel at home once shown to our room which was 17 you really did feel underground. The bed was a little hard and worn out but when tired it didnt seem to matter. It was surprising to wake in the morning thinking it was early but finding out it was 10:30am as the rooms were so dark. One thing we did find strange was when we were told what the colourful umbrellas were for as they were place under the ventilation shaft which allowed us fresh air to breathe. What they did was catch the falling debre that would fall down the holes even though their was a lid on top and a lot of little rocks did fall during our two day stay but we got used to it and you shouldnt be concerned about them.

Room Tip: all rooms are good as they are all underground which will allow you to stay cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We were caravanning when we stopped in Coober Pedy for a couple of nights. Whilst we didn't need accommodation we were told not to miss The Comfort Inn if only for a coffee. While it looked like there was no one staying there at the time ( the whole of Coober Pedy was extremely quiet ) , the owners daughter went out of her way to make us feel welcome, was extremely friendly & told us to walk around the beautiful motel for a look & not to miss " the bottle shop" ( a collection of old bottles found when converting the old mine into the motel) whilst she made our coffee. She told us stories of the conversion & opened up her gift & opal shop for us to have a look. Great customer service & I urge others to visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Rooms were clean and well presented. All confrorts as expected though being underground. Were free to walk all around inside and see the history of the place. Far better than the dust bowl of the caravan park we had previously stayed at. Owner was very helpful. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

All rooms underground, a very spacious lounge area that lead to the Rooms, counted i believe 18
The rooms are good standard size and have all facilities that go with a top class hotel. Bathroom good size but hot water was lacking due i suspect to many users at that time in the morning. Breakfast sufficient , Staff friendly really enjoyed our stay, The only drawback it is not easy to find Would we come back for SURE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Vic Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Pleasant and friendly hosts. Quiet spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Bathroom tight on space but very useable. TV clear but limited channels due your outback location. Wifi doesn't work in rooms due to thickness of walls. You are underground after all. However it works fine in the lobby. We had the continental buffet breakfast and what was on offer was excellent and good value. Can thoroughly recommend this property and we hope we can make a return visit sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room as they are closer to the lobby and front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Yes the rooms are underground- which is a cool thought and an experience. But for $185 per night, we were dis satisfied with the property. Theres no internet in rooms, the decore is straight out of a bric a brac shed, phone in room didnt work. I was appauled to see a zero pet policy as the motel owners let their 2x dogs and cat run around inside. Also their rooms are open when un ocupied so the dogs would go in the rooms- so I suggest if you have alergies to animals do not stay here. On booking on the phone we were told there would be plenty of parking for our trailer, this was not the case, reception was un attended and we were expected to interupt the church service next door to check in. I believe this is not appropriate for many reasons. Mini bar items were past used by. Wouldnt recommend, theres plenty of other underground accomodation, if your paying a premium you do expect a lot more than what this property offers. 3.5 star property... I think not, more like a 2 star, one star for the underground mine and one star cause there is a bed. 2/10

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience

Address: Crowders Gully Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.