We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Timers Mine

Old Timers Mine
Crowders Gully Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
08-86725555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Coober Pedy's Historic Old Timers Mine,S.A best tourist attraction 2011. See 1916 opal mine, Historic museum and underground home. Mining machine demonstrations, Multi lingual self guided tour written and audio guides. Opal showroom. Look for your own opal in own noodling pit, Family affordable and educational. See how the Old Timers in Coober Pedy lived and worked. An experience you will not forget. T-QUAL accredited
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We got a better understanding of how they mine opals on the tour and an extensive history of the area. The owner is very nice and helpful.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Timers_Mine, Owner at Old Timers Mine, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed the tour
Regards,
trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    79
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real interesting place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I went to the Old Timers Mine and I really enjoyed my time there. It was a very interesting place to go. The staff members were very friendly and helpful. A well worthwhile experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Timers_Mine, Owner at Old Timers Mine, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review, it is pleasing to hear the staff are doing a very good job and you enjoyed them and the tour
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Takes you back to the days when...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Fabulous experience going into the bowels of the earth to see the display based on real characters who have contributed to Coober Pedy's history. Fascinating. Not to be missed.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“mines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

its great knowledge about the mines always someone to help dislikes where the toilets but had to consider not much water

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A must! I mean it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Why do people go to Coober Pedy in the first place?

I guess for most people the answer is "opals", for us it was "Priscilla", but then again, that's just us… However, being there, we also wanted to learn about opals and mining and so we went to the Old Timers Mine, with no expectations whatsoever.

We took the audio tour and spent a good deal of time walking around, discovering and learning about Opal mining. It was time well spent! Not only do you learn about the excitement, the history, the economy, but also a bunch of other things you never expected to learn.

The tour is very well done, captivating and extremely informative. The only comment I'd make is that sometimes we couldn't find the next number, as they were hard to spot behind trinkets and exhibits or hard to see when you're crouching in the mine.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Timers_Mine, Owner at Old Timers Mine, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you so much for a very posive review, we are glad that you enjoyed the experince, we will take on board re the numbers in the mine and they are due for renewal, shall make them florescence to make thme easier to see . Again glad you enjoyed the Coober Pedy experince and the Old Timers Mine. Enjoy your Australian Journey.
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Timers Mine also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Old Timers Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Timers Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.