We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful,friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mud Hut Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mud Hut Motel to your Saves list
Mud Hut Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   St. Nicholas Street | PO Box 219, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“helpful,friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here twice recently and found the staff very helpful and welcoming.After we had experienced car problems, the staff really made a great effort to assist us to rectify the issues and organise alternative transport - much appreciated in an unfamiliar town.The accommodation was very comfortable while we sorted things out;the suites were a great self catering option.Will definitely be back next times in Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
48
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way from Uluru - such a clean quiet destination with hospitable staff and comfy beds! Such a relaxing stay! We had a queen room with a single bed and our 3 year old was very welcome! Breakfast was good! Will be back one day!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This clean attractive motel is within walking distance of the querky town centre. Family room large and well equipped. Staff friendly and more than helpful when handbag left behind. A great one night stop over but without the underground experience. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel provided a nicely appointed room in clean above ground hotel. The walls provide an interesting design, cool in more than one way. I was very pleased with this accommodation in the Australian Outback. Would like to have stayed more than one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

For anyone who prefers to sleep above ground this is a great stay. The rooms are large, very well equipped (we would have liked a toaster, however) and pleasantly decorated. They are set around a courtyard with native planting and the complex is within easy walking to restaurants. We were delighted to have free WiFi too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is our third stay in an apartment. We have found the staff very helpful, there is wifi in your room. The apartment is fantastic and had everything you need. We did not need the airconditioner on as the walls are thick. Also very quiet location. The staff clean the apartment every day of your stay absolutely wonderful.
After our long drives either from Alice springs or adelaide this a very welcome stop over.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Mud Hut is the outstanding accommodation in Coober Pedy, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean, well presented and very comfortable as well the price of th room was very reasonable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mud Hut Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Hut Motel

Address: St. Nicholas Street | PO Box 219, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mud Hut Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mud Hut Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mud Hut Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.