We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kwik Stix

Kwik Stix
42 O'Connell Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
(08) 8239 2023
Improve this listing
Ranked #407 of 1,383 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $14 - $18
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Restaurant details
Adelaide
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Decent and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There isn't really to talk about here, it's basically just a glorified McDonald's with Asian menu. It's quite a decent feed, especially the lunchtime specials for under $10, well suited to Australian taste. It is not real Asian food by any stretch of imagination, if you want real Asian go to the Chinatown or try one of the Gouger Street restaurants.

The place is OK for a quick lunch, they don't skimp on the food but I would not rate it as a good place for dinner, or a date. Much better than Maccas or a typical burger place but not a real restaurant either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If your in a hurry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We go here when we have a lot of kids with us as it is cheep and cheerful. It is always busy and you often have to queue on the weekend for tables. You have to go to bar to order food and drinks with one person on the till so there can be quite a queue here around 7.30 on wards which is annoying as you are away from your friends at the table for ages. Once ordered and payed for you then wait at the bar area for the person to make your drinks before carrying them yourself back to the table. You pay on ordering which is good so once finished you walk away! The waiting staff bring food to table in dribs and drabs (not all together). This is a problem if you have ordered meals not to share but we always put everything in the middle and share so for this it is perfect as food keeps coming! The staff are not very friendly and could do with some training. No smiles here!

But if you want a quick meal and no fuss this is the place! It is simple foods most dishes are very nice and for the price you pay it is very good value. Around $20 a head for one main and drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food, quick service, needs better lighting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I went here for a date and although it wasn't very romantic it was still nice. We were sort of shoved off against the wall as all the booths were taken (disappointed) but we didn't book ahead. The menu was large enough to leave me pondering as to what I should order and the prices were welcoming. We ordered an entree of spring rolls which lacked the spice I would of liked. Our main however, was very tasty and didn't take overly long to arrive. We are going here again for a birthday in a number of weeks. This time I will try something else again. The only issue was the lighting - bring a torch if you want to read the menu!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better than you would think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We used to go to Kwik Stix many years ago, when it first opened in North Adelaide. It was always a noisy, busy place, but the food was good.
Recently we were looking for somewhere to eat in North Adelaide and we thought we should have another look at it. Imagine our surprise when we went inside and found it was changed cosmetically at least. The menu was very good and so were the prices, if you're looking for a quick Asian meal then look no further.
This place is really good value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kwik Stix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I went to this place the other night as I was staying nearby. The atmosphere was nice and modern.It had reasonable prices for nice food.I was alone .The food did take a few minutes to arrive but the place was fairly packed that was the only draw back. The service otherwise was ok and good size servings .reasonable price wines and a decent variety.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwik Stix also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Kwik Stix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwik Stix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.