We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongue Thai'd

Tongue Thai'd
54 Henley Beach Road, Mile End, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
82346884
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 1,355 restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $13 - $18
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sensational !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Magnificent food and seriously great service ! The location and ambience of the dining layout is brilliant......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    31
    17
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another disapointment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have been meaning to go to this restaurant for at least 2 years and it was a disappointment. The room was tiny, the draught from the fire place great and the wooden floor made it incredibly noisy.
The curry puffs were puffy but no hint of curry, the fish cakes light on fish and heavy on oil. The Eggplant and Chicken special was sticky and sweet but not very flavoursome. The Red Beef curry also very mediocre.We were in and out in less than an hour and $70 lighter. Been there, done that and no need to go back. What a pity!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, service & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants. The owner is always friendly and it is such a delight to eat in a place where the owner truly cares about his customers dining experience and not just filling the seats. The red duck curry and lychee is absolutely exquisite. I have had the same dish at other places and nothing compares. The last time i ate there, it was a bit too spicy for me, but the waitress went over and beyond to ensure i enjoyed my meal, asking the kitchen to add more coconut milk and giving me extra rice when i asked for a doggy bag to take the rest home. The restaurant has a really nice feel to it with its red lights and buddha statues. The deserts are mouthwatering and the signature dish of fried eggplant is also fantastic. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“They do a fantastic job. Food and service was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Food was fantastic. Delivered quickly to the table.
Staff had a "care factor"
We really enjoy good Thai. This Resturant "has it"
This was the second time I have been here. Yes, I will be back.
Highly recommended !!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Tongue Thai'd is an amazing restaurant and their food is awesome. My favourite dishes are the soft shell craband their signature dish ie eggplant on a base of chicken mince and the amazing sauce that it come with. My new dish is the seafood and flounder combination, my taste buds go crazy.I had my 50th birthday party on a Sunday. Matt the owner is great, took all my worries away.Friendly, family restaurant. Best Thai in Adelaide !!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongue Thai'd also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Tongue Thai'd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongue Thai'd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.