We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dining with friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Edinburgh Cafe

The Edinburgh Cafe
7 High St Mitcham, Adelaide, South Australia 5062, Australia
83732700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #476 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place for dining with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant evening with friends in the restaurant. While a rather noisy place, we were also making noise so it just showed how much people were enjoying themselves. It is not really the place for an intimate dinner. The service was attentive and we did not have any issues with the food. Everyone enjoyed what the ordered, my only complaint would be the piece of beef fillet was on the small side, but it was cooked as ordered. Will definitely return with family or friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The wine not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Ed has what's probably the best bottle shop in Adelaide staffed by very knowledgable people. In that part of the pub it's great product and great advice.
Sadly, not all of the pub is this good and they're especially let down in the food area. Lamb shanks on the menu but they'd sold out by 6pm. It was reported the salmon fillet was so over cooked teeth were sticking together. The gloss on the sauce of the Moroccan goat curry just wasn't there so was left with a cardboard mouth feel and the kangaroo was overcooked. Service was a bit haphazard with meals taking 45 minutes to arrive and, hilariously, we could have left without paying. The twice asked for bill didn't arrive.
Mind you, the starters are ok and with lovely surrounds it's a honey of a spot to rest up after traipsing round historic Mitcham. On a fine day you won't regret setting yourself up in a sheltered spot with a few bevvies and a trio of dips. Catch the bus from town; it's only about 50m to the front door of the pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An icon in decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

As a long term customer of the Ed, it's sad to see the current state of decline. Regularly an organization I'm involved with meets there for a social evening. While we do not bring in vast sums of money in terms of revenue- our recent experience has lead to almost all people present at the dinner to go away and slam the experience. We were left waiting at the door to be served for quite a prolonged period of time, while staff seemed to walk backwards and forwards in front of us not acknowledging our presence. Once we were seated, I had to wave frantically after 15 minutes in an effort to get someone to the table to get some drinks while we waited for the other members of our party to arrive. After 30 minutes of sitting at the table, again I flagged down a waitress and asked her to take our food order, which she did. At the time (7.33 according to the computer docket) we explained that one member of our group had to leave by 8pm- at 8.10 the meals had not arrived at the table. The meals ordered consisted of 5 schnitzels woth various toppings, a rare kangaroo steak and a pie- nothing that warranted close to 45 minutes of waiting for our order to be completed. There was nothing wrong with the meals luckily. The restaurant was half empty, it was too cold to sit in the beer garden and apparently there were functions in the other part of the hotel- although the car park was not full by any stretch of the imagination - and still the excuse was given that "it was a busy night". The food once Little was done to rectify the bad experience and encourage us to come back again. There are several other hotels and restaurants in the area which we will consider in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Front bar for food out back for drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is killer $12 pint and parmi in the front bar and always a $5 special pint. Out back the same parmi is a $20 and without the pint it's a sting. You can still get the special beer out back and that's when it's happy days

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good spot for a long lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the few Adelaide pubs that still has a 'proper' beer garden, the "Ed" is a great spot for a leisurely lunch on a sunny afternoon. However, if you're on a tight schedule I suggest you inform the staff, as we had a 45 minute gap between starters and mains.

Food was OK, the Angus schnitzel was reported 'a bit tough', but the serves were generous for the price. Most mains under $20, starters around $10, a good wine list starting in the low $30 range.

Plenty of parking which is handy since The Ed is tucked away off the beaten track. Despite the misdirection of the listing locating it in Victoria, the map shows it correctly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edinburgh Cafe also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Edinburgh Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edinburgh Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.