We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food at very good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Playford Restaurant

The Playford Restaurant
120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 8213 8844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,497 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb food at very good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a good food guide rated restaurant which lived up its reputation. Gourmet food was well executed, quantities more than sufficient and prices fair and reasonable.

Service was friendly and attentive.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    59
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of the best buffet breakfasts I have had in a hotel. Lots of fresh and healthy choices. The cooked breakfast choices are plentiful and all regularly refreshed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful fine dining restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant appears small and the ambience isn't particularly intimate but the food and service are outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant. Also try their signature cocktail First Kiss...it is sensational!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A first class meal at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Tonight we went out for dinner to the playoff restaurant. It's charming with its stain glass window and it's regal fittings. We had a waiter kim who was friendly and he was excellent at his job. We started with hot bread and hommuswhile the fillet steak was cooking which my partner said just melted in his mouth. I had the king salmon with the potatoes in a horseradish mayo which was perfectly cooked by the chefs. It's a great place for one of those long dinners. We were both full from dinner but the deserts looked like a piece of artwork and they really were out of this world. You know how some restaurants make food pretty but then you need to stop and get something to eat on the way home well this is not one of hose places. It's beautifully presented and filling at a very reasonable price. Definately a favourite and it's going to be a hard meal to beat. Thank you for a lovely meal.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have access to Trip Advisor before we selected this restaurant. But our experience appears to match the other reviews. The service was excellent, the main dishes, lamb and chicken were outstanding and the Australian wine list was extensive. All in all, this is easy to recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Playford Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Playford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Playford Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.