We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Korean Excellence Service & Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mapo Korean Restaurant

Mapo Korean Restaurant
113 Gouger Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8211 6042
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 1,378 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $82
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Korean Excellence Service & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Mixed reviews from friends BUT was not disappointed Food & Service was excellent Tried the degustation which really demonstrated the diversity of Korean food with great flavours
Choose a bottle of wine instead of the optional wine journey ($40/head) The staff were friendly from the time of entering to the finish despite being busy a smile was always pleasantly provided
Will return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really nice Korean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a late dinner after the theatre on Mother's Day.
As we were not arriving until after 9.00pm we pre-ordered and it was gratifying to see the food arrived very shortly after we got there, along with a free glass of bubbly for Mum!.
Food was really good: very tasty and not bland as Korean food can be sometimes. Service was a bit inattentive at times; still, a good meal all round.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not Really Korean but still very innovative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've taken a few Korean friends to Mapo and while they all agree it's not pure Korean that have nevertheless enjoyed the food. We started with a mixed entree and the oysters were stunning while the scallops a little over cooked. We all had a little of one and others mains and everyone was impressed. While our Korean friend had seafood bibimbap I think the best was the jaeyuk gui - spicy pork in red capsicum. To add to the experience the staff are fantastic and enthusiastic. The wine list recommendations with each dish are a great help for those not au fait with the dishes they have a funky wine list and it's worth exploring.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakleigh, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food...Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friend and I met recently for dinner at Mapo Korean Restaurant. We had a fantastic meal..Great menu lots to choose from and we both really enjoyed the food. We will be heading back to Mapo in the very near future...Thanks

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

From the service to the food, I love this place! Not a cheap kind of place but for a special occasion I would highly recommend it. It's fancy enough that you're not allowed to take photos of the food ;)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mapo Korean Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Mapo Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mapo Korean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.