We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and food- thank god for the location!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stella

Stella
257 Seaview Rd | Henley Beach, Adelaide, South Australia 5022, Australia
08 83564315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #550 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Stella is coastal dining at its best, open seven days a week for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. We offer a selection of Tapas, main courses, pizza and pasta dishes to suit all ages. Outdoor dining over looking the beach is avaialble as is a selection of cakes and coffee's if you have time for a quick visit.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Poor service and food- thank god for the location!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

In line with majority of places in Henley Square (minus Estia) the service here is bordering on rude! Work it out guys! If you provide good service it will make up for your average food. But when the service is so bad, it highlights everything else wrong with this place... And there is a lot!

Very poor food, expensive and service that makes you never, ever want to go back!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had breakfast with some friends recently. The waiter was surly, they could not make a long black coffee despite our request and the food was bland. Mushrooms on dry toast with undressed rocket leaves does not make an appetising breakfast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Choose somewhere else in Henley Square...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I met a friend here for coffee and lunch. Waiter wasn't particularly friendly, he said lunch wasn't served till 12pm (that was fine, it was 11:30am and we wanted to start with a coffee), so we told him that. His reply was something like "well ok, but you need to tell me what you want". You don't speak to customers like that, and I would have liked to look at the menu but hurriedly ordered a cappuccino instead! Later we ordered lunch, my moroccan salad was very nice, but my friends chicken wrap was overpriced and not well presented. As we were seated outside another waiter who took our lunch order asked to hold a credit card. That's fine, but later when we asked for the bill the was some confusion and when a young female waiter brought out the bill she said something like "is this your credit card, we found it on the floor".. I thought WHAT?!?! She didn't seem to know what was going on and didn't even know if I'd been charged yet (although I was told I wouldn't be) but quickly tried to reassure me "Oh don't worry, it was only on the floor for a few minutes". Yes that makes me feel better!!! Last time I hand over a credit card, and last time I dine here.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views great service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved the tapas selection, fast and friendly service location spectacular and new cocktail jugs amazing!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“I do like to be beside the sea side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stella is situated in Henley Beach Square separated from beach by a an expanse of lawn. I loved sitting outside under the sun umbrella soaking up the sun and surf. The menu is suitable for a snack or main meal. I enjoyed the informality of having a pizza and glass of wine, but the menu is tempting to return for a more substantial meal. Coffees are great!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
 
Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.