We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jerusalem Sheshkabab House

The Jerusalem Sheshkabab House
131B Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8212 6185
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a yummy , really well priced in a place that is very casual you have come to the right place. Food can be served for all to share which is what we do. There is nothing left on our plates as even full we make sure we finish it all. Great job guys.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hanoi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

A step back in time. All the good things without the fuss and bling but that is the best thing about it! We were a table of two, had the banquet for two, got a great selection of what they have to offer....
Favourites were the tabbouleh and falafels, but as delicious were the stuffed potatoes.
Cheap, cheerful, authentic, delicious.
Pop down the road for some Sheeshaa after too.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great fun middle-eastern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been coming back to this BYO lebanese restaurant since our university days back in the mid-80's and it still doesn't disappoint ! We ordered the $22 banquet for 6 vegetarian-style (as one of us is vegan) which came with free corkage for the 3 bottles of wine and beer (for one of us who didn't drink wine - they don't serve beer here!) we brought with us.

The highlights were the dips (of course), fried cauliflower special (which we specifically asked for), falafel and, well, everything. Love the quirks associated with this quaint restaurant: the orange bench seats and plastic wine glasses (cups), but I still miss the waiters' orange dust jackets from the 80's and 90's, the genuine hessian decorating the ceiling, and the previous long-term restaurant manager who always called me 'boss' because I was the one who always seemed to order for our table.

Great food and great fun, although our attention after finishing eating was no longer on demolishing a flagon (goon) of 'claret' (Are we allowed to call it that now?), but rather on our facebook and twitter pages and websites on our iPhones and androids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We moved from Adelaide and miss this resteraunt very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Laminex tables, the waiter is the owners son, mum still in the kitchen
The yogurt and tahini sauce can not be replicated - stuffed potato is perfect
The meals are fantastic value
Cash only

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't haven't he banquet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ecellent Lebanese food, but we went for the banquet. Priced between $20 & $28. No explanation about the differences or what you get. Four of us so we asked for the $28. Seven dishes came out, of which 3 were from their specials list, 2 meat koftes, but no Shish kebabs - their supposed best dish. Had to ask for a plate, which after 15 minutes they finally obliged. Better off ordering what li want. Basic setting but tasty food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jerusalem Sheshkabab House also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Jerusalem Sheshkabab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jerusalem Sheshkabab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.