We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal at a good Indian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Tandoori

Taj Tandoori
290 Rundle Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 8359 2066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 1,389 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $28 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Australian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Taj Tandoor Indian Restaurantis one of South Australia's most elegant Indian restaurants. Located in the very heart of the city at Rundle Street, this multi-award winning restaurant is renowned for serving only the best quality of Indian food
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good meal at a good Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Returned to this great restaurant after a couple of years - weren't disappointed with a good meal late on a Sunday evening. Shared a great entree (Samosas) and my meal was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. My wife's vegetarian dish was a little dry however, and the service was also a little less friendly and attentive that we'd experienced previously. Aside from this though the food was as good as we'd remembered, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    15
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The faulty towers of Indian restaurants??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

In hindsight and even at the time there was an element of amusement to our dinner at this restaurant. The service really was among the worst i have experienced, non attentive staff who just didn't care, couldn't even get someone to hang around at the end in order to pay. Half the things on the menu were unavailable, and there was a strange mixture of some people getting paper menus, some more formal menus, maybe we got a tourist one?

The food was average at best, and took a really really long time (about an hour and half for the main, and there was no-one else there). The decor and ambience were just odd as well.

All up, would I return? Not in a million years, but it's certainly become a talking point from our trip to Adelaide, and taken with good humour it's all quite amusing.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A pleasant dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a good place to eat after a long trip fro our home base. We have been a number of times and the food is reliable if a bit unadventurous. It is close to the movie theatres and convenient to nearby hotels in Rundle Street, PulteneyStreet and the Mall.The service is unobtrusive and sometimes a bit slow. We always enjoy being there however, and have been particularly taken with the waiter who spends an inordinate amount of time looking at himself in the mirror. We will dine there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place for Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dined here when the Fringe was on, luckily got a table outside and was served promptly by the friendly wait staff. Ordered the butter chicken, lamb madras, naan bread and steamed rice. Food was excellent, meat was tender and the sauces delicious. Prices were very good, their menu had lots to choose from as well. We enjoyed it so much, we decided to come back for my birthday a few months later.
Great food, friendly staff, good prices, great location right on Rundle Street.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a few times and chose it this time for my son's birthday dinner. While the food was generally quite good, the service was terrible. Although there were only 2 others groups seated at tables when we arrived we had to wait quite a while to be acknowledged and then seated by staff. This set the tone for the rest of the evening.After asking for a fourth time a bottle of water finally arrived at our table. The only Sparkling wine severed by the glass was unavailable.
The entrees were delicious, in particular the vegetable samosas. The mains were varied
the beef and prawn dishes were tasty but the fish rangoli was tough chewy and rubbery and the veritable curry very dry.
There are lots of Indian Restaurants about so next time we'll be heading elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Tandoori also viewed

 

Been to Taj Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.