We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time and no disappointments!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiki

Shiki
InterContinental Hotel | North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
08 8238 2382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,378 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“4th time and no disappointments!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

On North Terrace in the Intercontinental,so very central and easy to get to...taxis on tap...
The staff are very attentive and all runs on time.
4 TYPES OF SAKI with excellent descriptions to help decide.Good wine list as well.
The food is mainly Tepanyaki,cooked by your own chef...it couldn't be fresher or more appetising or more immediate.
Sitting in a semi-circle around the hot-plate,you get to say hello to many different nationalities and it is a very convivial way to dine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    34
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, Excellent service and 'show' but very pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Highly recommend this is something you try once in your life. - We had a v. special occasion to warrant the $ for our group of 14 out - but the show didn't disappoint - the chef was affable and knowledgeable. The food kept on coming - and it was all delicious!

This is a place to indulge - try a bit of everything, and the sake list is great too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Japanese at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I ate here one night of my stay at the Intercontnental, and did not regret it.

Great sushi chefs, as well as teppenyaki, with a great atmosphere.

The kingfish sashimi is a must try while here - quite possibly the best I have had!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Everyone has to try Shiki once in their life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly staff, fantastic food. An amazing experience having your meal cooked right infront of you and served straight to you. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dining for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've visited Shiki now since the 90's. Not an awful lot has been changed to the formula since those days, but it still delivers as an entertaining evening with good, tasty food.
The restaurant is accessed from the lobby of the Intercontinental Hotel (formally the Hyatt) on North Terrace, which is adjacent to the Adelaide Casino. I realised there aren't any signs to indicate where to go which is a little unhelpful for first-timers. Just go directly to the lifts to the left of the entrance and go up one floor. There are also stairs off to the left.
The decor of the restaurant is minimalist and from memory, essentially unchanged since it's inception. There are several teppanyaki hot plates with 10 seats at each where the main meal is served, and other seats and tables where dessert is usually taken. There are several rounds of dinner seating - 6:30pm which we were booked, right up to the late seating at 9pm. It pays to book early although it didn't look like the restaurant was full on the Saturday night we attended.
Service is quiet, polite and unobstrusive. Sometimes we had to turn around to get someone's attention for drinks. However when our drinks came, they were quite generously dispensed! The night we were there there was a very reasonable $25, 3 glasses drinks package available.

The food can be ordered from the a la carte menu, or from the 4 set menus. We usually get a set menu, as we can't choose! They currently range in price from $95 - $140. The usual components include soup, sashimi, salads, mushrooms, seafood, steak, rice or noodles. It's good to get different set menus if in a couple or group, and then share the courses, so you get more variety. There is usually lots of chopping and flashing of tools, so the enjoyment of your meal is not only taste, but visual as well. Our chef looked a little weary, and managed to extinguish his match when trying to flame up some meat. But he just smiled, and kept up the show. Don't worry, there is not throwing of food to guests, like you might see at other teppanyaki establishments! Beware that there are generous amounts of butter and salt used, so speak up if you want your meal tailored to your needs.

Overall I think the set menus serve up slightly less than in the past, as this night we weren't full to bursting as on other occasions, which isn't a bad thing! Our desserts were a little disappointing taste wise. A coffee laden confection was almost bitter, and a chocolate log construction was a bit bland. However, because I had booked for my birthday, I was given a lovely slice of cherry cake with "Happy Birthday" written on the plate, which was delicious.

The Shiki has kept to a tried and true formula, and is obviously still bringing in loyal customers. It is a fun dining experience that has to be tried at least once...or twice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiki also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Shiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.