We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian in Adelaide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmin Indian Restaurant

Jasmin Indian Restaurant
31 Hindmarsh Square | Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
08 8223 7837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Adelaide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was invited to dinner at this restaurant!
Meals were the best I've eaten! Full of taste. Each dish was sensational.
Waitress was attentive.
No complaints at all.
Highly recommend! Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    96
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Ridiculous!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Called to book a table for 16 and was told 10 plus MUST choose banquet $48 per head minimum. How ridiculous in this economy, and who wants to be told what they MUST order! We have booked with another restaurant welcoming our group!,

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in all ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Food was delicious, service by the waiters superb with excellent advice on what to have, plenty of choice including for vegetarians, lovely ambience, with artwork by a famous south australian all round the walls. If you have mobility problems you might not like the stairs which lead down into the restaurant. Very good price considering the quality - cost us $153 for 4 of us for entrees and mains. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and quality at delightful retaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Jasmin has a long history as one of Australia's best Indian restaurants. I last dined here about 15 years ago and returned this week to find that it has, if anything, improved. The decor is classy with originals or prints of fine Australian art. The staff are warm and engaging. My friend has a guide dog and he and the dog were treated wonderfully well - not made to feel a nuisance at all. We went with the chef's choices (at $47) and enjoyed plentiful, beautiful Indian food of the highest quality. Blue cheese nan, lots of fabulous appetisers, butter chicken, beef vindaloo were standouts - maybe predictable choices, but very fine versions. The beer list was impressive and started us well. Even better were the wines by the glass. An Italian nebbiolo was quite wonderful and coped well with the food. We were treated to a free after dinner drink, the excellent dessert wine, in honour of my return after so long. I will certainly be back again sooner next time. I will have warm memories of this dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not quite on their game”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We travel to Adelaide once or twice a year and always eat one meal at Jasmin. Over the years this is always one of the highlights of the Adelaide visit but last night was disappointing. Not so much that the food was poor but it was just not at the usual standard. The Tandoori fish was excellent, as were the prawn pakoras but the lamb was quite dry and the rice was barely warm when it came to the table. As always the restaurant was full of patrons and it might just have been an off night. We will return and hope things are back on track.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmin Indian Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Jasmin Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmin Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.