We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant

Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant
91 Gouger Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8231 2299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $20 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Port Lincoln, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

expensive menu but absolutely amazing food & service. We shared a steak which was a good decision because it was huge, good value. Watch the Chef & other kitchen staff through the main window, they do an out of this world job! Will be back again next time in Adelaide. We are return customers. Share your meals if you're on a budget, this place is a must! Book a table to make sure you get one, they are usually busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    109
    48
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cannot fault anything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My partner brought me here for my birthday dinner, and I'm so glad he did! I had Salmon and it was the best I have ever had. He had steak, cooked to perfection and the sides were incredible. Service was fantastic, comfortable atmosphere and great location. Pricey, but worth it. For two meals and a drink each (soft drink for me with baby on the way) it was approx $140, no dessert as we were too full from the mains :) Will be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner chose to go here for his birthday. After seeing the menu I was hesitant with the prices, but the food and service is AMAZING!! They are well known for their steaks, but not being a huge red meat fan we had the oysters and then I ordered the prawns. Both were delicious! Everytime I walk past this place it is packed so definitely make a booking. I'll certainly be going back - YUM!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Substantial Feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Held a business dinner here with 7 of us. Wide variety on the menu, plenty of steak, seafood, even duck was there. Food was plentiful, meat well cooked (to requested levels), with plenty of sides to choose from. One of our party had an issue with seafood being cooked on the same hotplate at the same time with meat, and they have an allergy to seafood, so this was problematic. Tip, don't sit at the table near the front of the restaurant and close to the kitchen on a cool night as it has a sliding door which staff use to serve the outside seats, rather than using the front door. It becomes quite cold/uncomfortable when constantly opened and closed. Staff very friendly, service was good. A little noisy, but not impossible. Perhaps a little pricey for that end of town ($100/head, with not a lot of drink), but I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“not what i was hoping for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We attended recently for dinner with a large group. I have to say the noise levels in this restaurant are ridiculous - I could not hear others on the table due to the packing in of patrons and poor design. This really contributed to the overall negative experience. The food wasn't amazing - I have had better in Adelaide. Service was good. we didn't have dessert due to the noise levels. Oysters were good and fresh. The Proseco was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.