We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Great, Food Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant

Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant
91 Gouger Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8231 2299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,389 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $20 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Staff Great, Food Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dined In Gaucho's recently on a trip to Adelaide. The food was average, we were looking for an Argentinian experience and it was more an expensive steak house with most cuts of meat too large for one person. There didn't seem to be very many athentic Argentinian dishes, it was more a wave across the ocean. The kitchen is an open kitchen to the dining area which is great as you can see what's happening however, when the shellfish is put on the grill, the smell is quite unpleasant in the dining area. The staff were helpful and had a good knowledge of the menu. It could get really noisy as there were a lot of large table bookings. If you want Argentinian food, go to one of the other restaurants in Adelaide. We went on recommendation from a work mate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    110
    48
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Had a great steak here during a recent visit to Adelaide. Definitely not the cheapest place to eat but the quality of the food and the quality and knowledge of the staff makes it a real pleasure to dine here

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food and Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I recently organised a special suprise birthday dinner for my husband with 12 other friends at Gauchos just last night! Needless to say we had a wonderful dinner, the food was amazing and the staff looked after us above and beyond any of my expecations. When they brought out the cake they dimmed the lights, the whole restaraunt sang him happy birthday which added to the night. Nothing was too much for the waiters, and after having my wisdom teeth removed only the day before made a special dinner mea for me that not only was Gluten Free, but was something I was able to eat! I have read other comments that say the meat was too expensive and the place was loud , honestly it is fine dining and if you are going to a restaraunt that it famous the quality of its steaks then you should be prepared to pay for it. Do you not check the prices out before you visit? The ambience was amazing, yes it was loud, but the place was fully booked, but it still did not feel stuffy or closed in - the 2 seperate dining rooms is great in the fact is gives that space. So thank you to all the waiters, chefs and management for an amazing night, and we will certainly be back again!

One thing that I will recommend is that you do purchase salads and sides as the steaks are served on their own, and minimal potato servings on side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had high expectations of the restaurant but unfortunately it failed to deliver. The steak was tender enough, the pear salad was excellent but all overpriced. I ordered a glass of prosecco and what I got was a thimble sized glass. No where on the menu did it say this would be the case. The service was a bit under par, we had to ask for the salad and twice for a wine glass. Altogether disappointed. Plenty places to eat in the area so won't be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Form”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place was recommended to us .(A group of 7 male travelling golfers).The service from our waitress was excellent.
The Oysters Diablo were a dissappointment and were seriously overdone with the chilli flavour,the four of us who had them were of the same opinion.My porterhouse steak was not hot at all however the meat was very tender.
We had decided a $50 tip was in order for our waitress,however when our bill arrived we of course checked it only to find that we had been overcharged not $6 not $60 but $600.The matter was brought to the Managers attention,he seemed not too concerned.(strangely?)
Needless to say the $50 tip was not forthcoming nor will recommendations to visit this establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho's Argentinian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.