We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably great Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chianti Classico

Chianti Classico
160 Hutt Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8232 7955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reliably great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We made a last minute decision to eat here mid week and I am glad we did. Staff were friendly and attentive but not overly so. You can't go wrong eating at Chianti.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    100
    32
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Classy, excellent service, food and wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Love this restaurant for a special occasion or just because I feel like some mouth- watering good food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast, lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ate here the other Sunday night and it was excellent. We have eaten here before and the service is always very good, but last Sunday it was exceptional - attentive and friendly without being intrusive. I had oysters for starters and rabbit for main. Both were excellent.

Breakfast here is also wonderful. Hard to fault.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“FINE DINING, BUT AT A PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a fantastic dining experience at Chianti.
Good ambience, passionate staff, excellent food and wine.
I had the rabbit with one side dish, which was cooked to perfection and beautifully matched with the Contrarian wine.
My wife had an enjoyable mushroom pasta dish.
This was followed up by 2 first class dessert dishes.
But the experience needs to be related to the price.
In total we had one beer, 2 glasses of wine, 2 mains,2 desserts, 1 coffee. Total bill $164.00
The place was buzzing on a week night which illustrates fine dining is still alive in Adelaide.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

i don't go to chianti often but it is always a pleasure,good service from friendly staff and maria the owner.the decor is very warming and the food is always great.also a good place to go for breakfast in fair weather,sitting outside.good coffee and again great food.

k

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti Classico also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Chianti Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chianti Classico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.