We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chianti Classico

Chianti Classico
160 Hutt Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8232 7955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Upmarket Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Certainly no cliched pizza pasta offering here as this restaurant is a class act. Maybe the menu is a little conservative but I suspect it is delivering precisely what is customers expect, high quality food, friendly and informed staff and a welcoming atmosphere. Having been in business for nearly 30 years they know what they are doing! The rabbit was very good, the blue swimmer crab pasta exceptional but the steak was perhaps just good. By Adelaide standards the prices are at the highish end but interstate visitors will brush them off as very typical and perhaps even good vaue considering what is on offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    100
    32
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Didn't meet high expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dinner here with work colleagues. I was really looking forward to it as it as a very good reputation. I must say I found it merely average and quite expensive for the pleasure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More reputation than substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The good bits: the service. Quick, if a little over-loud and intrusive.

The could-improve bits: the dry, overcooked meat, the buffalo mozzarella (was it thawed from frozen? In Italy a good one feels almost like barely cooked egg white and is served at room temperature. This was grainy and very cold.)
The broken cafe blind right next to our outdoor seat, which was only pulled down to waist height. A cold little wind whipped underneath. To their credit, when we complained of being cold, they made temporary repairs, and there was a little nanna-rug for each seat.
Would I go back? No; not for that kind of money. I can get food just as good at the local Italian eatery for one third of the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close, but no cigar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I soooo wanted to feel like I was back in Italy. The ingredients were right, the combinations were right but it just didn't hang together for me. The meat dishes were overcooked and dry which was a shame because the flavours were wonderful. The real let down for me was the buffalo mozzarella - it was grainy and watery as if thawed and served cold from the fridge left it tasteless. For me the highlights were the wonderful fresh ingredients and the attentive service. Would I go back? Maybe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent food & service, beautiful classy setting. Had a fabulous breakfast with my daughter and son's partner as a special girls outing. Would definitely return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti Classico also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Chianti Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chianti Classico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.