We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad i decided to try it out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Salsa

Cafe Salsa
5 West Beach Road, Adelaide, South Australia 5024, Australia
(08) 8235 1991
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“glad i decided to try it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was wanting to go somewhere for lunch on my birthday and as i had been hearing from friends that there was a new owner at Cafe Salsa, It was a beautiful day so we thought a drive to West Beach sounds like a good idea.
We were greeted by the friendly staff & very impressed by the quality of the meal!!
We both ordered "insalata di mare" a fresh seafood salad.I then had fresh local prawns w asparagus , wrapped in pancetta & grilled to perfection!!
My husband ordered the Rib-eye steak. .Again cooked perfectly.
THE EMPHASIS IS ON QUALITY INGREDIENTS.
WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Courteous service, Commendable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here a number of times over the years for a family treat, such as a birthday or celebration as we live reasonably close by. It is definitely family friendly and does not endeavor to be upmarket or anything it is not. Its a quaint retro building and furnished in keeping with the era - basic, not flash.
The restaurant has changed hands in recent times, but the basic Italian menu remains pretty much unaltered and covers most choices from, good pizzas, quality pasta (the gnocchi is very good) fresh seafood and meat and steak options. Be sure to have the garlic pizza bread with a couple of serves of the fried calamari when you arrive and before you make your main course selections.The gelato bar is great and always a nice way to finish a meal.
BYO is very welcome and thankfully you are not made to feel guilty for bringing a bottle under your arm.
The venue is not far from the beachfront and is particularly delightful on a balmy summer evening, sitting outside at the front of the restaurant under the thatched palm tree covering in the fresh air.
The new owners and staff are delightful and are welcoming, friendly and enthusiastic.
We will continue to keep this as our family friendly local with good consistent food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no more screaming and abuse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Happened to be at west beach and walking past salsa and had decided a long time ago never to return, but we noticed a sign out front saying "under new management" and got exited that finally we could return to what was once one of our favourite restaurants, and lucky we did. From the service to the food it was the salsa that i remembered, without the screaming and the abuse, yes Marco has left the building finally and the new owner is pleasent and eager to please. We asked the owner if we could meet the new chef so we could thank him for such devine meals and he promptly came to our table, even though his english was a bit shotty his cooking was spot on. My gnocchi were to die for and rib eye steak was amazing. Definatly be returning to knock back a few cocktails and pizzas this summer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very mixed experiences here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

If going to this restaurant be prepared for variable service and food. Went with a large group and had pizzas which was fine , as they just brought them out when ready so synchronisation of services was not a problem. Returning as a couple, our mains took over an hour to arrive - well my partner's took an hour and mine 20 minutes later - and not very good when it did arrive. The free glass of wine that I managed to shame them into for the wait was hardly compensation for watching each other eat 20 minutes apart. I won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not so Special Specials”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went along to Salsa for a catch up with friends. Although the atmosphere was moody and dark we couldn't actually read the menu properly because of the "moody atmosphere". Lovely roaring fire just what you need on a cold wintry night, that was a good bonus. Waitress came round and told us the specials and left giving us time to decide. Two of us choose the Seafood Special with Salad which when it came up really wasn't that special, tiny bowl of "salad" which consisted of a few lettuce leaves,couple of bits of cucumber and a bit of onion, then the seafood which was about 3 prawns and a couple of pieces of Calamai. Nothing Special at all. Wasn't told the price either on ordering and I didn't think to ask as most meals around $25.Big mistake should have asked as not worth what we paid for it. So be warned make sure you ask if having the "SPECIALS".

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Salsa also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Cafe Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Salsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.