We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger very poor Caesar salad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Hotel

Astor Hotel
437 Pulteney Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 8223 2442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 1,378 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $5 - $24
Description: Here at the Astor Hotel, we pride ourselves on our three 'F's, Friendliness, Food & Functions. We have an extensive menu, meals that range from a snack to a feast. You can dine on a budget, we have a $10 lunch meanu Monday through to Friday, or you can order from our a la carte menu. We have happy hour from 5-6.30Pm Monday to Friday, with $5 pints and $5 wines. We have a beer of the month every month, not to mention various other new products we try and test here. We have five function rooms, ranging from capacities of 30 to 400 guests, depending on your needs. You can share your special night in a private room with your friends and family. Come visit us, we'd love to meet you..
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the Astor Hotel, we pride ourselves on our three 'F's, Friendliness, Food & Functions. We have an extensive menu, meals that range from a snack to a feast. You can dine on a budget, we have a $10 lunch meanu Monday through to Friday, or you can order from our a la carte menu. We have happy hour from 5-6.30Pm Monday to Friday, with $5 pints and $5 wines. We have a beer of the month every month, not to mention various other new products we try and test here. We have five function rooms, ranging from capacities of 30 to 400 guests, depending on your needs. You can share your special night in a private room with your friends and family. Come visit us, we'd love to meet you..
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great burger very poor Caesar salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Order the Astor burger. I give it 5 out of 5. Do NOT order the Caesar salad it's less than 2 out of 5. Caesar salad has a soft poached egg, NOT a hard boiled egg. It has a LOT of crispy (cos or iceberg) lettuce. NOT a green decoration on too much bacon. Caesar salad is a basic which comes with a recipe that anyone can follow.

Please folks put as much effort into the Caeser as you have into the burger and things will be wonderful.

David

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dining in style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a nice intimate restaurant with very good food. It has good service and we enjoyed dining here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“typical pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Astor is a good spot for pub grub. Nothing fancy, but reasonably priced burgers, steaks and the like with dining area, pub dining and outdoor seating.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Food was good, but staff and the service were terrible. One member of our group of 10 friends meal was missed and it then took over 45 minutes for it to arrive. Long after everyone else had finished eating. We had to keep asking the waiting staff for an update on the missing meal and were given differant and incorrect reportes from all of them. Finally asked the kitchen staff and the meal finally arrived. Waiting staff were off hand in their attitude and one female waiter was deliberatley rude and full of bad attitude and arrogance. Never again. Adelaide has too many good hotels and eateries to put up with this rubbish.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A older pub with casual meals at a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Often drop in to this hotel for a good meal at a good price. Certainly not a trendy updated hotel but if you need a good affordable meal out can highly recommend. Have daily specials and wed quiz night which usually sees pub packed! Give this a try!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astor Hotel also viewed

 
Blackwood, Adelaide
 

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.