We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to Rundle Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miller Apartments Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Miller Apartments Adelaide to your Saves list
Miller Apartments Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct - no Fees!
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Close to Rundle Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

To begin with we had a 10 night stay at these apartments in a Executive One Bedroom. We were on the top floor (Floor 5) and faced the street.

The room appeared to be clean and tidy - though the carpet does need replacing.

We, like others who have made reviews smelt "Subway" smells (the sandwich company) in the foyer and sometimes in the hallways as the apartments are above Subway and some other food outlets. Our room did not smell like this.

There was aircon in the room, but we did not need it for cooling or heating.

On the first day we asked the cleaner for a dish cloth (a cloth to wipe the bench down and to wash dishes). She said they did not have any, that they had run out. A dish brush is not provided either. We did have a dishwasher but sometimes you need to scrub or wash your own dishes at times as there are only 3 of everything (plates, cutlery and glasses) and when you are staying there, you use more than one of these a day each between two people. The dishwasher can take too long and seems a waste if very little in it.

Any way, the dish cloth. We did get a dish cloth on about the 7 th day of stay.

What was some nice touches was on about day 3, we received a packet of Charlesworth mixed nuts from the duty manager, welcoming us etc.

On about day 8 we received a bottle of wine and a note from the duty manager thanking us for our long term stay. These were very nice gestures and appreciated it.

Miller Apartments (check google maps) are about 6 shops away from King William Street where the trams and buses are and Rundle Mall starts.

There are some nice restaurants around Miller Apartments, but ask at reception for ideas on where to go. There are a few nice restaurants down Leigh Street (one side is Bank Street the other Leigh Street), which has the KFC on the corner (opposite direction to King William Street). It is a narrow street and since we were told about a couple of nice restaurants being down this street (both ends), we looked round. I don't think we would had done other wise.

A short stroll towards the Hindley Police station (a few doors down) is a short cut through to the railway station and to the casino and Adelaide Oval. (sign posted)

This accommodation is very good for Adelaide Oval.

The big question is "Would we stay here again?"

I have been toying this over and over. I say yes, but just for a short visit, maybe 3 or 4 nights as if next time we again stay for a long period in Adelaide (we had not been here before), I think I would like 4 to 6 nights in Glenelg. As Glenelg is easy to get to on the tram and vice versa. And it is a seaside town with nice cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear kiwixp,

Thank you for your review of the property, and I will add that I am very sorry about the issue with the dishcloth, I shall definitely be following this up with my housekeeping team!
I am also pleased that you enjoyed our little "weekly gifts" which are a small token for choosing to stay with us for an extended period of time, and we do hope you will visit us again on your next trip over from Napier!

Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    156
    66
    23
    23
See reviews for
87
126
23
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is the first time I have been totally duped by Trip Advisor reviews. Either the other reviewers have very low standards or they stayed in a different place. First off the carpet in this room was so filthy that the soles of my white slippers turned black. The carpet was also so loose you had to be careful not to trip on it. When I told the front desk about the state of the room, they agreed that the rooms needed to be up dated but hadn't got around to it as yet. While some people may appreciated being in the middle of downtown action, Saturday night was horrendously noisy with drunks yelling, loud bands that went on till the wee hours only to be replaced by the noise of the clean up crew 5am. There was a glass enclosed balcony which would have been nice if it had been clean or if the windows had been washed within the last 10 years. The fans in the bathroom only worked occasionally and the ceiling fan in the room without windows only had one speed, wind tunnel. It was nice that we got a discount coupon for parking but the front desk staff didn't warn us about getting charged for another a whole day after staying any time over 24hrs. The front desk staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Be prepared for noise on friday and Saturday, demand a updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Janet T,

Thank you for your review of our property, I am terribly sorry that we've missed the mark on aspects of your stay. I am also sorry that you felt "duped" by other reviewers and think that they have lower standards than you do. Is there the possibility that we might, on occasion, make mistakes and that overall we are usually quite a well loved property? The Miller Apartments has in fact won "Best apartment/suite accommodation in SA" in 2013, and were also recently awarded the certificate of excellence by Trip Advisor. That said, we do appreciate your feedback regarding the loose carpets and the windows. I can confirm that in our refurbishment in the upcoming months, that these issues will be addressed.
I will be addressing with my housekeeping team the shortfalls you noted in regard to the cleanliness of your room. I did check with my front office team and they noted that there were no issues raised in our handover log until day 3 of your 4 days with us, so I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to either re-allocate your apartment or address the issues with the apartment itself.
Please also note that my duty manager did attempt to make contact with your party regarding the issues noted on departure, however we were unsuccessful as you were in transit to Perth at that point.
I do understand that your visit to South Australia may well have been a one off, however should you return in the future from the USA, please do get in touch with us directly and I would be delighted to show you our face-lifted product and ensure that you have no such re-occurrence of the issues noted in your review.

Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and definitely will consider staying again! Apartments are basic, but all one needs. We specially appreciated the washer and dryer in the apartment -- nice to end our vacation and come home with suitcases of clean clothes instead of dirty. The apartments are close to great shopping and restaurants -- really just across the street from Adelaide's Rundle Mall and Rundle Street. Though the area has a long reputation for activity at night, apart from folk in the hallway, the apartment was surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and the room overlooked Hindley Street. Only noise came from folk going do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Joyce G,

Thank you for your review of the Miller Apartments Adelaide, we were delighted to be a part of your visit from the USA (and to help you return home with clean clothes!). We trust you enjoyed your trip to Australia, and hope to see you again on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Fantastic location (though public parking is hardly possible, had to park my car at the paid parking just to check in), shopping malls are walking distance, plenty of restaurants nearby. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Loved my loft (though I have to climb flight of staircase to get into the bedroom). View is terrible though, and basement parking is very very narrow (thank goodness for my excellent driving skills).

Overall will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sandra O,

Thank you for your review of the Miller Apartments. We are indeed fortunate to be very centrally located, and we were pleased to read you were happy overall with your stay.

Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Miller's Apartments a few times in the last 5 years. I have never had any problems. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and modern with good facilities. The perfect location. Right in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Adelaidebug,

Thank you for your review of the Miller Apartments, we are delighted to have you as one of our repeat guests, and thrilled you took the time to share your positive experiences on this forum. We are very lucky to have such a great team here, and the positive reviews make the effort most worthwhile!
We look forward to your next trip to see us.

Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

excellent location in the middle of the city, near transport was very useful. personally, i hate credit card surcharges and security deposits that are not returned for 10 days, annoys me no end. the 2 bedroom partment was basic, but roomy, faced onto a street full of pubs, but there was a glassed-in verandah and so the noise wasnt noticeable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Hester2500,

Thank you for your review of the Miller Apartments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location excellent. Upon check in, all credit/debit cards are pre-authorised to cover the cost of the stay. How long the pre-authorisation is held for is dependant on the bank, and not the hotel, so I would suggest following up with your credit card provider, as most Australian banks release authorisations in 3-5 working days. I have also taken on board your annoyance at the credit card surcharge, however it is most commonplace these days. Please note that we do offer the options of paying via cash or EFTPOS (no surcharge).

Thanks & Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Perfect location and excellent service by the staff made up for the fact that the rooms weren't as great as what was expected due to the apartments' own photos online. Still a good stay and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Chelsea R,

Thank you for your review of the Miller Apartments. I am sorry that you felt the apartments didn't live up to your expectations, however we are looking forward to our refurbishment scheduled to commence in August this year. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give some more feedback on the property later on this year.

Best Regards,
Stuart - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miller Apartments Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Apartments Adelaide

Address: 16 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miller Apartments Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller Apartments Adelaide is proudly Adelaide's newest apartment style hotel, providing a new level of comfort in newly renovated one, two and three bedroom fully self-contained apartments. The hotel was voted 'Best Apartment / Suite Accommodation' consecutively at the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) SA at the 2013 & 2014 Awards for Excellence. Miller Apartments offers luxurious apartment style living and is superbly located in the heart of the city. Our friendly and impeccable service coupled with exceptional quality and comfort will ensure a satisfying home away from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miller Apartments Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Apartments Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Miller Apartments Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Miller Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller Apartments Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.