We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but don't bother with a balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miller Apartments Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Miller Apartments Adelaide to your Saves list
Miller Apartments Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct - no Fees!
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good but don't bother with a balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in Miller servced apartments for approximately two weeks business at UniSA. Locationwise, excellent- five minutes walk to Woolworths. Staff service was excellent and friendly.

Two fairly minor gripes. First, I arrived early and was told i could go to my room straight away or wait two hours to get a balcony as i was a long stay guest. I thought ok, a balcony might have benefits. Wish i hadn't bothered! The balcony overlooked a fairly dingy back yard and i never went out on it once. The second issue is that the carpets in the room were a bit grubby.

In summary, excellent place to stay if on business but wouldn't recomend for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Forget the balcony- you won't want to use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about the carpet, and also the balcony, and have duly taken action to improve these in this apartment.
Thank you again, and safe travels
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    156
    66
    23
    23
See reviews for
87
126
23
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently stayed five nights at Miller’s Apartments.
I am a mature woman and was travelling alone.
I found the apartment to be clean, comfortable and was similar to their advertisement.
The apartment was ideally situated for the shops, trams, buses, railway station and information booth.
The apartment was equipped with everything I needed. However I did not cook so cannot comment on the utensils, though they did look adequate.
The staff at all levels were friendly and helpful.
A globe in the main bedroom light blew while I was there. I reported it to reception on my way out and by the time I returned to the apartment it had been replaced.
I have already recommended Miller Apartments to friends and family who travel frequently.
Tip: There is a Woolworth’s in Rundle Mall for your grocery needs.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review and it is most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Miller Apartments. I am glad that you felt safe, found the apartments clean and comfortable, and equipped with everything you needed for your stay. We are also very lucky to have such excellent staff in our hotel, and I am glad that you found them friendly and helpful.
Hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Safe travels and best regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked Miller Apartments through a third party website a long time ago for our trip to Adelaide because it had a good rating and the price was good for the time of year. When we arrived, we discovered the website had booked us into two rooms. Fortunately they had only charged us for one of them but the Apartments charged for one night for the other room because it was considered a cancelled booking. Bit of a bad start to the holiday. The first room we were given was 110. This room had no natural light because the windows were frosted and overlooked a small alley directly into the wall of the building opposite. The apartment was large and spacious but no natural light meant we could not stay there. Fortunately they moved us into the other room that had been mistakenly booked. This was equally spacious and had more natural light - but not a lot. Lights on during the day if you were there. The room was clean and tidy and perfectly functional for what we needed. The air conditioner needed a good clean because we could see the mould inside it and it leaked first day putting a small puddle of water over the floor underneath it, and for some reason the phone would ring at 4:17am every morning, Phone of the hook fixed that. It can get very noisy outside on a Friday and Saturday night but that is the price you pay for inner city living. The location could not be faulted. A little tip - if you are using a shuttle bus from the airport, they do not stop outside the apartment complex because of parking - instead it is about 150 metres down the road. No big issue. Overall it was OK for what it was. The location was superb but it was tainted by the booking stuff up when we arrived which took the gloss off.

Room Tip: Rooms on the the side opposite the street are quieter but darker. Try to get higher up than Level 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
There are often two sides to every story, and I think it only fair to comment on the booking process, throughout which the hotel was not at fault. You booked on a third party website quite a while ago, booking two rooms, booked at different times (a few days apart), and as two separate transactions on your credit card. We held these rooms for you as requested by the third party website. Upon arrival at the hotel you commented that you only wanted one room, that there must have been an error, and to assist you we called the website, and were able to negotiate them to refund three of the four nights leaving you just the one night cancellation charge. I feel we did what we could do soften an error that was beyond the control of the hotel. We would advise in the future to book on our own website or direct via telephone, where you are guaranteed to get the best deal, and there is no need to involve a third party.
I apologise for what you called a lack of lack of natural light and it appears that our staff did their best to move you to a more suitable room.
I am sorry that you have not left Miller Apartments with the impressions we would have liked, and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Central location close to free city loop bus and tram. Only 12 minute walk to Rundle Mall and centre of city. staff very friendly and helpful, able to give clear directions for walking, public transport and day tours. We were upgraded to a premium apartment when our air cond didn't work. Travelling with 2 adults and. Teenager, the two bedroom apartment was ideal. Great having washing machine and drier in each apartment, daily servicing of apartment was good. Free computer use and wifi in foyer was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
I am not sure if this review is for Miller Apartments or Breakfree Apartments?
If it is indeed for Miller Apartments we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the 2nd time we stay at Miller Apartments and it won't be the last! Good value for money, perfect location (Next to the Mall with all the shopping!!) and EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE! The first night I ended up with a room not facing Hindley St, it was my mistake as I requested a quiet room. The Reception staff went out of their way to accommodate us with another room (The hotel was booked out). I also do like their courtesy call to make sure that everything is all right. I have spent 7 years in the hospitality and tourism industry working as a travel agent, staying in different hotels, and I must admit these guys are doing an amazing job.
Thank you again for your hospitality and professionalism....
Flo

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated our customer service. This is certainly one area we spend a lot of time on, and it is pleasing to see this in action!
We hope to see you back at Miller Apartments soon!
Safe travels
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at these apartments. Our executive one-bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and quiet but the housekeeping was a bit of a let-down. The carpets in our apartment were quite grubby and were only vacuumed once in the 8 days we were there. The staff were very friendly. On one occasion someone took us into the street to give us directions. We received a free bottle of wine for being long-stay guests. Unfortunately, the balcony view was non-existent. We were surrounded by high walls, as this part of the building was at the rear.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, pay for an executive room at the top of the building, at the rear (but don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and for writing this review.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, apologies for the carpet, this has been rectified already. I will however comment that as one of our "long-stay" guests staying with us on a reduced rate, your room is only fully serviced once per week. We do however replenish any amenity items and empty bins on a daily basis.
We hope to welcome you back again to our hotel soon.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here about 6 months ago and thought we would try it again for the tennis. It looks like the hotel has done some upgrades to the lobby, the rooms and is all freshly painted. This hotel is ideal for people wanting some extra space and want to be in walking distance to everything. Nice to see a hotel actually spending some money on upgrades. We will def use this hotel next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments on our hotel. Yes, we have been upgrading our rooms, and lobby furniture over the last few months and we are glad that you have noticed!
We hope to welcome you back for the tennis next year, if not before!
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miller Apartments Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Apartments Adelaide

Address: 16 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miller Apartments Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller Apartments Adelaide is proudly Adelaide's newest apartment style hotel, providing a new level of comfort in newly renovated one, two and three bedroom fully self-contained apartments. The hotel was voted 'Best Apartment / Suite Accommodation' consecutively at the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) SA at the 2013 & 2014 Awards for Excellence. Miller Apartments offers luxurious apartment style living and is superbly located in the heart of the city. Our friendly and impeccable service coupled with exceptional quality and comfort will ensure a satisfying home away from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miller Apartments Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Apartments Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Miller Apartments Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Miller Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller Apartments Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.