We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, rundown and terrible customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greenways Apartments

Save Saved
You added Greenways Apartments to your Saves list
Greenways Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenways Apartments
45 King William Road, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, rundown and terrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

As others have said the place is run down. The place was obviously not cleaned properly. A build up of hair and dust in the bathroonm and even worse the toliet had a clean seal put on it but it haden't been cleaned!

There was only one perspective for the lady manager/owner and that was she was right and I was wrong. There was a distinct lack of helpfulness from staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

really disappointing. Dirty, grungy, ancient. Was not expecting a 5 star experience but immediately upon entering wished we had not already paid. The apartment was dirty, dirty, dirty. Stains on carpets, dubious stains on sofa, Disgusting cracked, glass in shower, broken tiles, mirrors, Horrible. Was embarassed to even say we were staying there and certainly never would again. Kitchen facilities - kettle, not touching that! Toaster, disgusting, rusty, grimy. not touching that either! And as for the carparking I was assured of over the phone before booking. we counted 18 parks for the 40+ apartments. the first night we had to drive around until someone left the carpark. The second night we parked illegally in the Uni car park next door. Never ever again. wish I had taken some photos. They would have been a little different to the ones I had seen on their website!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

This was the first holiday apartment block ever to be built in Adelaide and the building itself obviously does reflect the style of that time. So if you want ultra modern design, marble tiled ensuite, colour coordinated drapery etc you had best stay somewhere else. (And pay far higher rates!) Greenways is situated close to the cathedral, some delightful parks, lots of good eating places and some eminently respected hospitals. It is on a busy road but has double glazed windows, so traffic noise definitely isn't a problem. The apartments have been updated to a large degree, are scrupulously clean, air conditioned, with a decently equipped kitchenette, modern tv/dvd and comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and helpful, and I can only assume that any visitor who says otherwise must have upset them pretty badly! Greenways has lots of repeat business and is on the list of recommended comfortable budget accommodation for families of patients staying in the nearby hospitals - all for good reasons.

  • Liked — Great position, clean, comfortable unpretentious value for money.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the apartments for a total of about 5 weeks and the moment we walked through the door to the entrance hall our hearts sank. Dingy and dirty were our first impressions and the decor was in serious need of updating. Staff in general had an attitude that they had our money so were not prepared to go out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The pictures on the website did not tally with the reality in the slightest and our 'bedroom' was an old balcony that had been made into a room but could only really be described as a cell. None of the furniture matched and everything had an unwashed feel about it. It has obviously been done up in the 70's or 80's and had not been touched again since. After we found a cockroach in our kitchen we decided to eat out for the remainder of our stay. We had given our money upfront before we arrived (big mistake) and quickly realise when we heard another resident screaming for her money back when she viewed the state of the apartments that it wouldn't be an easy ordeal. Because they had made a bedroom of the balcony (!) we had no natural light in the living room and this made the atmosphere gloomy and depressing. The only redeeming feature was that it was in a good location for town and North Adelaide but we were kept awake at night with noisy neighbours, traffic etc, no fault of the other residents it was just that the walls were so thin it was very noticable. We suspected that we did not have complete privacy during our stay as comments were made about our personal belongings that were inappropriate and suggested that our items were scrutinised by the staff. Would not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Liked — The location was the only plus
  • Disliked — The attitude, the cleanliness, the decor and the noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

Greenways apartments are situated in King William St near the North Adelaide "Cafe" precinct (great dining). They are also near the Cathedral and Adelaide Cricket Ground. Self serve accommodation is spacious and relaxed. Not ritzy but comfortable, clean and good old fashion value for money.

There's off steet parking and efficient, courteous service from Greeenways staff. Adelaide CBD is a comfortable walk or a short bus ride away.

We stay there every time we visit Adelaide, about once annually, around Arts Festival time, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenways Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenways Apartments

Address: 45 King William Road, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Specialty lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Greenways Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenways Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.