We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what i expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Old Adelaide

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Old Adelaide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Old Adelaide
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 O'Connell St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #32 of 54 hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

the problem with this hotel is the rating given, hence expected more luxury. The twin business room was tucked away on the ground floor by the stairway, which meant i heard every noise as people walked up to their room.

The room was dark, chipped plaster falling off the wall by the bed,old furniture inkeeping with the character, but old chipped and broken.
carpets old and worn. Single beds comfortable enough but did not sleep well.

would i come back? NO over priced and dated accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldAdelaide, Manager at Quality Hotel Old Adelaide, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide.

We are continually striving to improve the overall quality of our services and facilities to ensure we're keeping pace with the changing needs and expectations of our guests.
I am sorry to hear about the experience you had in our hotel, I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with all of my staff and managers.

We are currently undergoing a program of refurbishment throughout the hotel unfortunately your room was one yet to be renovated.

Once again, we thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us in assisting the property in our goal to exceed all guest expectations.

Warmest Regards

Danielle Thomas

Assistant Manager
QUALITY HOTEL OLD ADELAIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
49
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Had to obtain accommodation at very short notice and selected the Old Adelaide Inn. The service desk were very obliging. Stayed for 3 nights and would be pleased to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldAdelaide, Manager at Quality Hotel Old Adelaide, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the feedback section of this site. It is always extremely pleasing to hear positive comments about our hotel. We greatly appreciate that you chose to stay with us at The Quality Hotel Old Adelaide

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Danielle Thomas

Assistant Manager
QUALITY HOTEL OLD ADELAIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

The 4.5 star rating this place gets is false. I tried taking the issue up with the local star rating body(RAA) but they declined to answer my email. At BEST, this place is 3.5 star and to continue advertising claiming anything else is fraud. Paid $179 per night for the Executive Spa Suite, no breakfast or late checkout, just the room. Asked for a quiet room. Got a cave like room with a couple of old sofas, one had a big rip in the cushion with stuffing hanging out, clunky old fridge and dated fixtures and fittings. The room was dark, dreary and straight out of the 80's. It had a small balcony which was divided from the neighboring room by a cheap piece of trellis which was falling to bits. Two cheap plastic chairs, a glass ashtray and small table finished the experience off. Yuk. The neighbours ashtray was overflowing with butts, blowing onto our side and disgusting. The quiet room requested was situated at the top of a stairwell which meant that we enjoyed everyones night out as they clacked up the stairs. Thank God for the Adelaide Airport curfew because our room was right under the flight path and the planes stopped around 1030pm'(however, they get going real early). The road noise from OConnell Street couldn't be blocked out by the air conditioner. The room had a door in the wall which presumably was for interconnecting with the next room. The light filtering under the door at night was annoying and had to be blocked out with bags. The old guy staying there was a heavy smoker which meant that when he wasn't on the balcony smoking, he was hacking and wheezing away in his room. The smoke from his balcony came into our room . Had to laugh at the 'Linda' brand plastic kettle which was coloured in white and speckled grey. We remembered buying one for our first house nearly 30 years ago and how the hotel kept this gem working was beyond us. They were a $10 kettle back then and I reckon this one is from a garage sale somewhere. Surely, they can't be still in the shops(Cunninghams Warehouse or similar) The TV remote was hard to fathom and was held together by a rubber band. Despite boasting an Eco sticker, the shower head leaked water. It was a water saver head which gave the worst shower. The shower was over the spa bath which all seemed pretty stupid really, given that on one hand they were trying to save on water with a shower that leaked but underneath was a spa which gobbles through water. Couldn't fill the spa anyway because the hot water ran out. Lights in the main room flickered and ended up turning them off due to the annoyance. Staff that booked us in was indifferent and answered the phone half way through our book in leaving us to twiddle our thumbs. Offered to help us with our bags which I declined. Don't really know how he would have managed it anyway, given that he was there by himself. We didn't like this place at all, it ruined our weekend and we left early. We were too tired and annoyed to speak to the hotel about our experience as we left and judging by the attitude of the staff member who booked us out, they wouldn't have cared. It was obviously a common occurrence and his only parting words were that we wouldn't get our money back. Thats fine, they can keep it and use it to buy some more equipment from garage sales to stock their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldAdelaide, General Manager at Quality Hotel Old Adelaide, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide.

We are continually striving to improve the overall quality of our services and facilities to ensure we're keeping pace with the changing needs and expectations of our guests.
I am sorry to hear about the experience you had in our hotel, I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with all of my staff and managers.

We are currently undergoing a program of refurbishment throughout the hotel unfortunately your room was one yet to be renovated.

Once again, we thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us in assisting the property in our goal to exceed all guest expectations.

Warmest Regards

Danielle Thomas
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We needed to stay in North Adelaide to visit friends for 3 days in Summer. We wanted to be close to our friends and have a pool in case it was hot. We weren't planning on spending much time at the hotel. So really chose it as it had a pool. It was certainly not a 5 star resort but the kids 7 & 10 had a ball in the pool. They swam every day and hardly anyone else used the pool. We all had fantastic sleeps, the beds seemed very comfortable. We were at the back of the hotel and certainly couldn't hear any traffic noise. The room had a tiny courtyard, which we would have used but it only had one plastic chair. I was very happy with the rate of $149.00 per night . The room had a single bed and a pull out single sofa bed for the kids. The tv was modern and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We got an excellent walk in rate thanks to being a Choices member. As we'd just had three lousy nights sleep in Marree and Lyndhurst, we asked for and got a room facing away from the main road. We walked to one of the very many nearby restaurants for dinner and made our own breakfast. The room was well equipped and nicely dark and quiet at night so we managed to recover much of our lost sleep.

The only negative was the price of internet access - when will hotels start realising that free access should be a standard hotel feature? Like others, we found a nearby cafe with free access.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADELAIDE, AU
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We checked into this "old" (1980) hotel 2 nights ago. I asked about linking
on to the Internet. Told there was a wire in the room and then to click on my
browser and type in "Accept" when the space appeared.

I did that. After 2 hours, my computer told me: 10 cents per megabyte.

I continued no more than 2 hours.

I went to the Front Desk: The bill: $79.00 (Seventy Nine Dollars!)

"I should have used another Plan" ????

SUMMARY: "RIP OFF-- BIG TIME!"

The hotel is not 4 stars today. It may have been 40 years ago.
The beds are hard. (Ask my wife.) The A/C doesn't work.
No safe in the room. No good blankets.
Staff: friendly. They are Australians.

Over-priced and ripping off the guests who need the internet.

There are many other good hotels in Adelaide.

Signed: An old Medical Doctor who has been around, and
tells it the way it is.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Az
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Superior Service. Superb staff. Hotel is a bit dated, but in an elegant. Free parking. Charge for internet, but it is free at the cafe next door with some MB limitations. good location in North Adealide; plenty of restaurants and shopping with easy access to the main part of town. Ffitness center is weak.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Old Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Old Adelaide

Address: 160 O'Connell St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Old Adelaide 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding a prominent position amongst the many restaurants, cafes and shops in iconic O'Connell Street, the stately Quality Hotel Old Adelaide is truly an impressive landmark. Being located only 1.2 kms from the city centre, the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide is the ideal location if you do not want the hustle and bustle of the city, yet want to be close enough to experience all that Adelaide has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of Adelaide Oval, Women's and Children's Hospital, Memorial Drive Tennis Centre, Festival Centre, Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. The walking and jogging tracks of the exclusive North Adelaide parklands are also only a short stroll from the hotel. With its delightful colonial-inspired surroundings, the Old Adelaide's renowned Snooty Fox Restaurant is widely acclaimed for its fine food and service. The Old Adelaide Inn is also a very popular wedding reception venue, offering the choice of three well-equipped function rooms - also ideal for business conferences and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Old Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn North Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Old Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.