We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY AT THE CHIFLEY AND WELL PRICED !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chifley Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chifley Adelaide to your Saves list
Grand Chifley Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
phillip island australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY AT THE CHIFLEY AND WELL PRICED !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This hotel is just what i was looking for . Great rooms with a balcony that looked over city and Adelaide Hills . The reception and staff was first rate. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were very welcoming and efficent . You were amongst friends , very homely feel . Breakfast buffet was superb with a good selection of fruits and cerals and yogurts . Hot breakfast also available. WOnderful service . They have a nice bar with outside cool garden if needed . Swimming pool was nice and clean with plenty of umbrellas and towels . Place was spick and span and is next to sister hotels the Country Comfort and The Chilfley, whichthe latter , is also very nice with a lovely pool and a grand old style reception area . Fell in love with the place will stay next time i feel . Recommend the Grand Chifley very nice and quite inexpensive

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    181
    117
    37
    23
See reviews for
60
158
45
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Booked the hotel on Wotif and pleasantly surprised with the result. Location is fine but a bit away from the busier end of town. It is only a short walk to the free tram into town though. Rooms are clean and a good size with all the usual amenities. Generally we stay in hotels where the internet is free and were not impressed that this was not the case. The amenities description should mention that there is a per hour charge for the connection. Luckily one of us had our own wireless internet service to use. The only other downside is the availability of parking spaces. For a large hotel more spaces should be available. If you have a large car the size of the parking spaces could be an issue. Other than that we had a comfortable stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

The hotel is showing its age a bit. As usual they've put a lot of effort into the lobby area, but the clunky old lifts gave the game away.

However, the room was OK. The things that mattered were nice, clean, working. Fridge needed replacing, wardrobe too, but really it was OK.

TV was a problem, couldn't get the channels to work. I am getting tired of hotels sacrificing ease of use so they can install pay-per-view Foxtel. reception guy came up and made it work, I heard the next day everyone had the same issue, and also the picture quality was shocking, I found the control to fine-tune and fix that, they didn't.

Bed was comfy, air con was noisy but at least it was there, and the walls were a bit thicker than some hotels so noise levels were bearable. They might need to ask the garbage skip truck to maybe not come at 5.30am and bang around and rev engine for 20 minutes however.

Breakfast was excellent. Continental stuff is laid out, and then you order your hot stuff, the menu was interesting, and the breakkie was very good indeed. Top marks. Also, the pile of free papers near the left every day was much appreciated.

It was OK, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I only stayed here for 2 nights so this review is based upon limited experience. Firstly the check-in was straightforward and courteous, the staff were helpful.

The room was large by European standards and as a solo traveller I had plenty of space. All the facilties worked well.

Breakfast was fine, very friendly staff made for a good start to the day.

The only drawback was the location on South Terrace was some way from the City centre and the sights. I walked it as I had time to fill and no one else to take into consideration but I can see that couples and families might find it costly to take cabs to get anywhere. The plus side of this was that the hotel was very quiet, so I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here as a part of a package deal from SeaLink prior to leaving for two tours with their company. We were sorely disappointed with the stay at the hotel for many reasons. First and foremost, unless you are in town for business, this is far from ideal for the tourists' location all the way out on South Terrace. There is a free tram just a block down and you can walk to the Rundle St Mall area, but it is a bit of a hike. It's just not centrally located and was a huge disappointment for us. Secondly, while the front desk staff were friendly and tried to accomodate us, their rooms were inferior in many ways. We were promised an early check in by SeaLink and upon arrival, we were notified that our room wouldn't be ready for at least an hour, which wasn't a big deal overall, but again, a promise was unkept. Once we checked into that room, we noticed that two lightbulbs had burnt out and that we were supposed to have a clock radio. Also, the sliding glass door balcony did not close properly and let in the wind and noise (VERY noisy!). We also never got a complete towel set during our stay. We had to check out and check back in for one night between tours and when we checked back in, we were told we were upgraded. Once we entered the upgraded room, it was laughable...same old room, on a different side of the building. Oh, but this time we did have a radio that read " 7:88" as the time. Overall, we were sorely disappointed with this hotel as tourists and thankfully, we were able to check out and spend one night at a centrally located hotel that was much better for our purposes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Booked via Wotif and paid $129 per night and stayed 4 nights; as part of a promo we were upgraded to an executive room on 9th floor. Room was recently refurbished and looked modern enough however definite lack of attention in the detail:

- door closer was too strong for all doors on the floor resulting in bang bang bang every time someone went in or out, us included

- room was not vacuumed once in our 4 day stay

- corridors have no ventilation or air con, resulting in hot stuffy walk to room

- 2nd hand equipment used in the refurb (good: better to reuse than recycle) eg air conditioner and telephone (bad: they were very grubby with obvious black smudges & prints)

- bathroom & room lights were eco friendly (good) but couldn't see to put makeup on the bathroom (bad) and couldn't get close to the mirror b/c sink in the way

- the "hotel pool" was in the property next door and was an unsheltered, unadorned, very basic concrete watering hole in the car park. Couldn't spend any time in the pool in 40c temps as there was no shade or shelter apart from a hot openlaserlite roof nearby

- wall mounted TV (good) with wires hanging down looked very unsightly and could easily have been fixed

- refurbed room doors were clearly rebadged old doors (I support reuse of materials; don't support screw holes from removal of old room number being obvious)

- 1% visa surcharge on bill - never experienced this before !

- Staff were friendly, no hiccups during the stay apart from the lack of vacuuming & issues above. Free newspapers each day.

All up, given that Adelaide has lots of other hotel options I would try them next time given that I have no reason to want to return to Hotel 208, now known as Grand Chifley. I think they could easily do better and it's a shame they don't take a look in their rooms to find out how.

  • Liked — modern
  • Disliked — not vacuumed, bathroom lighting very poor
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorooduc, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

My friend and I were forced to stay in Adelaide due to a cancelled flight.This hotel was recommended by the staff at the airport tour desk.They said it had been recently renovated.
Well, we certainly weren't given a renovated room.The room was 1960's style, dirty and small.There were holes in the curtains!
Also we arrived around 9pm, having waited ages at the airport, only to be told that the kitchen had closed and we had to trapse down the street looking for a restaurant (not alot of choice in that part of town and on that point - don't bother with Fasta Pasta!)

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chifley Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chifley Adelaide

Address: 208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chifley Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Chifley Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Grand Chifley Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Chifley Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chifley Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.