We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly staff, comfy bed perfect for a business traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chifley Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chifley Adelaide to your Saves list
Grand Chifley Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly staff, comfy bed perfect for a business traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed here a few times in the past and just keepncom I no back. Some of the rooms have been renovate and updated which is great. Nice central location, with park across the road for a spot of exercise.

Breakfast is well catered and staff are very pleased to help.

If I were to give visitors a tip, get down to breakfast early especially on a weekend as it fulls up fast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear RachealP
Thanks for returning again and writing a review. I am pleased you enjoy your stays and have passed on your comments to our team.
As mentioned, we have upgraded our standard rooms recently and these are now very similar to those on the upper floors which were previously refurbished and offer guests a consistent product throughout the property.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    258
    145
    43
    24
See reviews for
93
206
59
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not really worth the amount we paid for it even though it was a wotif special executive room. The toiletries had not been replaced so the conditioner he been opened used and not replaced and the shampoo from the room was missing, left me wondering if the room was actually cleaned! Then today checked bank statement with $100 pending transaction from the hotel. We were miffed so called and got a rather abrupt gentleman who said because we didn't present our credit card on departure (we paid cash) they weren't able to remove the authorised $100 arrival transaction! Now we have to wait ten to twelve days for it to be removed or advise of our credit card details over the phone! Would have been nice to be informed on arrival!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Amanda R
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay.
Front Office do generally inform guests on check-in of the Credit Card pre-authorisation process and we include a business card further explaining this which is presented with the room key wallet. We apologise this may have been missed on your check-in and for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result.
I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping & Front Office teams for improvement in these areas.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent 5 nights here on business, found reception to be very friendly and check in efficient. Overall the room was clean and comfortable. The only real kitchen amenity was a kettle, no toaster or microwave. The downsides were the rooms seem to only get serviced late afternoon even when you place the "please service my room" sign on the door. Also the adjoining rooms are very very noisy

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Peter T
Thanks for staying with us and the feedback.
Unfortunately we do not offer toasters or microwaves in our rooms due to the potential of false alarms with burning or overcooking of items, disruption to other guests and the high cost of the Fire Services call out when false alarms occur. Our Room Service Department are able to assist guests with requests to heat food in the hotels kitchen microwaves and we offer Toast (with condiments) on the breakfast menu (both in Restaurant and Room Service).
We do have a sequence of service for our guest rooms however we are pleased to assist those with specific room servicing requests if they require them at a particular time of the day during their stay. Guests can either speak to the room attendant direct or arrange this through our friendly reception team.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I travel for work a lot. I look for somewhere with comfortable, clean facilities and accommodating staff.

Although this hotel looks a bit like it's going through a renovation (some bits look much newer than others) it was clean and comfortable.

Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast and room service was very tasty.

Happy to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Joobes3007
Thanks for choosing to stay with Grand Chifley Adelaide and sharing your experience as we appreciate the feedback.
We have undertaken several stages of refurbishments throughout the property over the past couple of years. Notably our ground floor Public Areas have largely been rebuilt from scratch whilst all of our guest rooms have now had substantial refitting and offer a similar look and feel to each other throughout the different room types.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel had a good bathroom with a very good shower over bath arrangement.
The room itself was average with 2 queens beds, however there weren't any extra pillows available in the room.
Although the booking was for three, upon arrival we were told housekeeping had only made it up for two and needed to place more towels in the room.
Requests for extras (pillows etc) were met without hesitation though.
Convenient to many eateries.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tounga
Thanks for the review of your experience at our hotel.
We have reminded housekeeping to ensure sufficient towell's and items are placed in rooms prior to guest arrival when we have been notified that more than two guests are staying and we apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced waiting for these to be bought to the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room itself on first impression was great, especially for the price, then again the price is not the usual charge so it was adequate. . Large, clean with two double beds and just as important a decent sized work desk and table.The worst thing though was after falling asleep thinking how I would gladly stay here again I was awoken on the first night at 5am by....pigeons! three or four perched on the balcony right outside my door and windows, after trying to scare them away so I could get some sleep mainly between 5 and 9-30 am, I gave up. I noticed in the daylight copious amount of pigeon faeces all over the place! This shows that the problem is not new so apart from the disgusting smell and sight of pigeon doo all over the place it needs to be pointed out this contains quite dangerous diseases and bacteria harmful to humans and should have been cleaned up. Now I did go some way to resolving the issue the second night by sprinkling some chilli and tabasco (all I had) around the area the pigeons kept scratching around and they seemed to be less frequent however.....I was awoken again the second night at around a similar time by what I assume was a male staff member from the adjacent hotel Chifley hotel pushing a shopping trolley full of bottles-beverages (whether empty or full I don't know) across the front of the hotel through the car park from one side to another.

Room Tip: stay away from balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear chrisprofessor68
Thanks for the review on your stay.
We are sorry for the disturbance from the pigeons (which are a major nuisance throughout Adelaide at the moment) and are currently working to resolve the problem on our building by installing 'bird spikes' to the ledges over the windows in a programmed manner. Unfortunately, this is condensing the problem onto those ledges where the spikes are yet to be installed and in some instances the birds are now roosting on top of the air conditioning units. We have also undertaken other significant steps to deter the pigeons previously with some more effective than others and we will continue in our efforts to deter them for all our benefits.
Our housekeepers undertake specialist cleaning of the balconies on a daily basis however the numbers and condensation of the birds quickly results in more faeces being built up. We will remain vigilant in our efforts though and look forward to a significant reduction of birds in the future.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Location is very good, handy to CBD. Room was adequate, good size but nothing flash.

There were just lots of little things that disappointed such as lack of any warmth from the staff, food trays left in corridor for hours, vacant tables in the dining room being set (very noisily) for breakfast when we hadn't yet had our order taken for our evening meal.

The balcony was unusable if you were not a pidgeon.

3.5 stars at best.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear blackduckNSW
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review.
Your feedback is very welcome and has been shared with our staff and department managers for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chifley Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chifley Adelaide

Address: 208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chifley Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Chifley Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Grand Chifley Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Chifley Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chifley Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.