We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Adelaide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chifley Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chifley Adelaide to your Saves list
Grand Chifley Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little gem in Adelaide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Grand Chifley for a week in July. We had a suite and king size bed room which was connecting on Level 11 which was very convenient with large living room space to chill out. Both rooms have balcony overlooking the park which was very nice. The rooms were spacious and clean with flat screen TVs and all the basic facilities. The staff at the restaurant were all friendly with smile on their faces and we enjoyed breakfast there every morning we were there. The location is fantastic and only two tram stops to CBD with lots of eating choices within a 5 mins walking distance. We truly enjoyed our stay there. It's nothing fancy but clean, spacious with great service staff who made our stay fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    259
    146
    44
    24
See reviews for
94
207
59
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent the night here for a work trip.

Having arrived late they had me checked in within minutes which was great after a late flight.

The room was modern but clearly an older hotel with low ceilings etc. However the bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was super clean.

The 24hr room service is very limited which is a shame as I'm not one for deep fried food late at night.

Brekky was the normal buffet but nothing special. The brekky staff were lovely.

Overall a clean, practical and comfortable hotel, but nothing super special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had stayed at the Grand Chifley before and I still prefer somewhere closer to the town centre. However I was not given much choice as it was work related accommodation. It took me about 15 mins to walk to the city centre and I would not walk this distance at night, given the quietness of some streets,

The room was befitting a 4 star hotel, with a comfy bed, large flat screen tv and Peter Morrissey toiletries. This time I note that I did not get a welcome letter, and the staff was not as friendly as last time. As usual there was no free wi-fi and there were many sport channels on the tv.

Breakfast was okay with the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, fresh fruits and pastries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the Grand on a business trip and was quite satisfied with the level of service offered. The rooms were modern, the beds comfortable, and most importantly... the toilets were very clean. No traces of previous customers to make me feel like a CSI gathering DNA Evidence... :-)

My request for a room on higher floors was met with a very weird response about higher floors not having a Wi-Fi connection, which I find quite unusual. But other than this small hicup, I was quite comfortable spending the week at the Grand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a business customer I've stayed at the Grand a couple of times. I find it much better than the Chifley a few doors down. The customer service is really quite nice and clearly aimed at making a stay much more comfortable. I had a few issues, but they were solved very quickly.
The rooms are very nice. I stayed on the 8th level and views of the South Parklands and the city are easy on the eye.
Sound travels too well between rooms and the hallway. In particular, I had a room with an adjoining door which allowed every noise to float between.
That aside, it was clean, tidy and well presented. It is the type of hotel room where, as soon as you walk in you can happily throw the bags down, lay on the bed, flick the TV on and relax.

Room Tip: Eastern rooms get sunrise nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Well, I checked into the Grand Chifley after my disaster of a night at the Chifley on South Terrace - a couple of doors down.

Well, I have to say I thought I was going through "ground hog day" because the first room they put me into was EXACTLY the same as the room I had just left at Chifley on South Terrace - same configuration, same noise level, same everything - even same tv. Just a teensy weensy bit more modern (but not by much). The only difference was that this room had a connecting door and i HATE connecting doors so I changed to another room that did not have a connecting door, but unfortunately had two double beds and so the space was very limited - no table and chairs or louonge in this second room. Just beds.

Both rooms were not really that big and as I said the only real difference was that some sort of refrurbishment had gone in the Grand and so it was slightly - very slightly better. Of course the other advantage for me as a business customer was that there was full room service - which the other Chifley didnt have.

Other than that - it wasnt really that Grand. Just bearable that's all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were forced to spend one night here after our flight got cancelled. This hotel is obviously quite old and has all the hallmarks of outdated design wrapped around a vale of semi-recent renovations.

The rooms appear modern and clean but are very noisy because there are a lot of them on each floor. Luckily we didn't have to pay for this one. We ate dinner at their restaurant downstairs, but the food was about as good as the rooms - very average indeed.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for room close to the corners to get away from the noisy lift wells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Chifley Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chifley Adelaide

Address: 208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chifley Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Chifley Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Grand Chifley Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Chifley Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chifley Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.