We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Chifley's location was so convenient for our short trip to Adelaide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chifley Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chifley Adelaide to your Saves list
Grand Chifley Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Port Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grand Chifley's location was so convenient for our short trip to Adelaide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Grand Chifley was an excellent place to stay for our 4 day to trip to Adelaide. A trip to the Barossa Valley to sample the great food and wine, a visit to Hahndorf, a trip to Victor Harbour and and afternoon at the Turner Exhibition filled in our days. A worthy mention was also our visit to Bird in the Hand Winery what a pleasant surprise. Great location, staff very knowledgeable and great wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear TwoHappyAussies
Thanks for the review on your recent stay. WOW, it certainly seems like you didn't have much time for resting and packed in as much as possible during your time with us. We also feel our location is perfect for visitors like yourself who want the convenience of somewhere central to head off exploring from. Our free parking is a bonus on occassions such as this no doubt.
I hope the rest of your travels were as enjoyable as your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    185
    118
    37
    23
See reviews for
61
159
45
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been staying at the neighbouring Chifley on South Terrace for longer than I can remember, but on this occasion it was fully booked so I went to the Grand. Impressed by the renovated rooms. Clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Bar staff and friendly and attentive. Top marks for the fantastic breakfast. Checkout smooth and easy. AND parking is free!

Room Tip: The good rooms seem to be above Level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi JennandMalcolm
I am pleased you enjoyed your Grand Chifley Experience - I thought you would! The upgrade to the property over the last few years has certainly seen a lift in the quality as you mention. We have also strived hard to maintain the traditional Chifley staff friendliness and professionalism so it is very pleasing to hear from respected long term guests direct in this regard. Your comments have been shared with our staff and a general commendation and well done has also been given to them.
I know you have also been waiting patiently for some news on the Kurrajong restaurant and bar area upgrade at Chifley on South Terrace (your previous favourite hotel where you normally stay before the Grand Chifley experience). Let me just say...."it's exciting"! Oh and I am hopeful of a major announcement very soon.
Thank you again for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful weekend in Adelaide and its surrounding areas. I took advantage of a special deal at this hotel - 3 nights where the Sunday night only cost $30, with breakfast included on all 3 mornings. A bargain at just over $360 AUD on a long weekend.

The room I was allocated was on the 8th floor, with expansive views of Adelaide Hills and the city. It was relatively large in size and clean. The location of the hotel was also good. It was away from the city centre so there was no crowds to speak of. The tram stop (South Terrace) was a 5 minute walk away, with trams arriving every 15-20 minutes most of the day. It's free if you want to catch the tram to the city. Only problem is the walk to and from the tram stop at night can be a bit scary, due to the lack of crowd and inadequate lighting.

Check in and check out were smooth. All the staff I encountered were kind and courteous. I found parking to be adequate within the hotel car park. There were also plenty of parking spaces outside the hotel on North Terrace. This could be because it was the Easter weekend where schools and offices were not in use.

Breakfast was at the Zouk restaurant on the ground floor. It was nothing special, but by no means disgusting. Enough to fill me up, ready for a long day of sightseeing to the Barossa, Murray River and the city itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ng-ryan
Our $30 Sundays are indeed a bargain package and proving to be very popular. There are only a limited amount of these packages available each weekend and people should book early to avoid disappointment.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you also saw a fair bit of our great city's nearby attractions. (Personally, I love the River Murray which is just an hours drive from our hotel and then its many small towns - there always seem's to be an antique store or curio shop that traps me into buying something each time I visit).
Your comments have been shared with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

An old but well maintained hotel. Big credits to the staff. Rooms are cleaned and well sized.
Biggest complaint is that there are inadequate number of car park spaces for the guests. To make it worst, some of these spots are taken up by the restaurant patrons and staff members. I found this is quite amusing that the hotel staffs asked us to park along the streets or a few blocks down where are there empty spaces.
Location is fine as it is just at the fringe of Adelaide's CBD and close to Glenelg tram.
It has a school next door and the area gets congested during school finishing or starting time.
Lastly, there are pigeons residing in the balcony of our room and a few other balconies too. They tends to be a noise at night and make a mess in the balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ken T
I apologise for any disturbance you may have encountered and that we are still having some problems with those pigeons as you mention - however we do appear to be winning the battle. We have now completed installation of the bird proof netting to the areas they were roosting in to a majority of the rooms. Over the next few weeks we expect this to be completed and whilst this won't completely elliminate the pigeons, they will find our location less comfortable and hopefully move on as a number have already done.
As our parking is currently free it is on a first come basis for guests and patrons and we make no representation a space will be available at all times. I apologise for any inconvenience and have reminded staff car parks are for guests and restaurant patrons in the first instance and at times of peak demand they are not to use these spaces themselves, keeping them available for our guests.
Thank you for sharing your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Picked this accommodation up from a Wotif 5 star Mystery Pick and what a find!

Great room on the top floor with an excellent view to the West of the City and the large park on South Terrace.

Nice and close to the City, walking distance to restaurants and pubs, tram stop to Glenelg and central to road system of Adelaide.

If bringing a car, get a space early as parking is extremely limited, hence the walking into the City.

The staff were extremely helpful and very courteous.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor, western view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Brent S (Smithy's review).
"What a Find" seems to sum up this limited deal (which is still current for those lucky enough to find it), with both you and the previous person to review us now mentioning it! I hope the secret won't get out too much or you might be unlucky next time you go to book!
This deal is for rooms on our higher floors and the views alone are fantastic I reckon.
Those bringing cars are welcome to to our FREE parking which is on a first in, non reserved basis. Parking is also available at our adjoining properties however as you mention this can be tight at times of high occupancy and demand. For those who don't wish to walk into the CBD centre, there is a free tram service with the nearest stop located just 800m away from our front door.
Thanks for sharing your great find with your fellow travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a mystery deal through Wotif, what a pleasant surprise.
Fantastic executive king room 10th floor, great location, free parking, extremely helpful staff and great food.
This has certainly been a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear RLRD
How delightful you found one of our great and strictly limited mystery deals. These are great for people willing to take 'a chance' and as you have found and can indeed turn into a highlight. These and many other great packages at our hotel are available on different websites we display with, as well as our own website.
I hope the rest of your holiday was as exciting and rewarding as you have found your stay with us to be and hope you are able to come back our way in the future.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Extremely pleasant and convenient location (easy walking distance to the tram stop). Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very agreeable and helpful. We didn't like the first room we were given on the first floor (dirty aspect out the window and right near the laundry) but they moved us quickly to the third floor which was lucky because there was a function on the Saturday night which would have been very loud if we were still on the first floor.
The cheap Sunday in the 3 night rate was great value and included the breakfast buffet. The bacon was absolutely perfect - something I can't even manage when I cook it!
However, the wifi prices were exorbitant, far above most hotels I've been to. If you need an internet connection, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chifley Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear cazbeckett
Thanks for the review on your recent stay and I am sorry I have not responded sooner.
Our current $30 Sunday, 3 night deal is great value as you mention. These packages are limited so we recommend people book early to avoid disappointment.
Our Wifi rates are set by an external 3rd party provider, however we are in the process of renewing our Wifi agreement and infrastructure. This will allow our guests greater flexibility and a range of pricing options once finalised in the near future.
I am sure, if we ask him nicely, our breakfast chef would be happy to share the secret to our 'perfect' bacon next time you stay. :)
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chifley Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chifley Adelaide

Address: 208 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Hotel 208)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chifley Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Chifley Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Grand Chifley Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Chifley Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chifley Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.