We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for central Adelaide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Franklin Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   92 Franklin Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Adelaide B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value for central Adelaide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during the test match, and sampled the mid price room and the lower rate room, the Mid price room no 2 had an enormous bathroom with free standing bath and seperate shower.whereas the lower price room only had a shower.
both rooms were clean and had large televisions and a standard size fridge , the contents of the fridge were free 2 beers 2 ciders, water and 6 cans of soft drinks . there was also a goody bag with snacks and chocolate. Also a expresso machine.
The downsides are that their is no onsite parking so whilst there is free overnight strret parkinguntil 8am you have to park in one of a number of multi-story car parks if you want to explore the attractions of Adelaide during the day.
The restaurant menu is not aligned to the quality of the rooms , hot dogs being featured with a small number of other grills.
There is no breakfast served. Despite the room being above the bar there was no noise on the nights we stayed (Sunday and Monday)as the bar closed about 10pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Called in for dinner with my son & found the bar staff very friendly & chatty. Ordered our meals for which we did not have to wait long & both were excellent as was the bottle of pinot noir we had. Service was good & plates were cleared quickly. I had a steak cooked exactly how I liked it whilst my son had the fish which was also excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel for its service & food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was lucky enough to celebrate a special birthday at this lovely boutique hotel and was not disappointed. The hotel itself is certainly a wonderful location to celebrate amongst friends and family! Now to the rooms upstairs, which are well appointed and a perfect mix of funky yet classy and definitely luxurious! Great attention to detail with some neat little free extras, loved the nespresso coffee machine, free snacks and mini bar!
Now to planning our return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Franklin. It is truly a quirky lodging, and all will experience some of these quirks. Our room (#8) was spacious, and the bar noise which is pretty intense on the bar level was almost nonexistent in our room. The kingsize bed was superb, and the room was light despite flat black walls and carpet because of the two huge windows.(Ceiling was white.) The fridge held beers and cokes, both free. The coffeemaker was excellent. The bathroom was a tribute of elegant design over function, with virtually no shelf space, a beautiful shower that sprayed nearly the entire bathroom floor, and nearly no hooks for anything but a towel. Very clean looking by eliminating most essential functional clutter. The designer obviously had never traveled with toiletries. There is no front desk presence, all interactions happening through the bar staff, so when the bar is closed, you are pretty much without resources, and when the bar is open during the day, the bar staff is very busy, so don't expect concierge services, but you can certainly get a beer. In all, we really liked the Franklin, but it is not everyone's cuppa for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is exceptional and really great value. You get a lot with the room - free WIFI, bike hire, free snacks and drinks, a Nespresso coffee machine to use...and the rooms are really cool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The Franklin has gorgeous, funky, spacious, well appointed rooms and luxurious bathrooms.

Rooms include lovely touches - free wifi, free snacks, in-room coffee machine, free bikes to borrow, and best of all, a free minibar!

Checkin was with a friendly guy who works behind the bar. He carried my bag up the stairs and showed us to our room.

After checkinf in we headed downstairs for yummy cocktails and a delicious hot dog in the bar. All great value.

The only downside was the noise. I live in central Sydney but the noise here kept me up - the pub's music was blaring til late, the traffic was loud, and I was woken at 4am by a nutjob screaming on the street for half an hour.

An exceptional boutique hotel stay, I'll definitely be back - I'll just bring earplugs!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Franklin, and the rooms were beautiful, with fun design and nice in-room snacks and drinks. The beds were comfy, spotless, and was everything a boutique hotel should be. At A$160 a night, it was also great value. The Central Market where you can have lovely breakfasts and coffees is also just a block away.

However as it was the weekend the noise from the bar downstairs was fairly loud (it's open until 1 in the morning), although the rooms towards the back are fine. Parking could also be challenging to find, although if you do not drive this will not be a problem at all.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back (4,5 and 6) are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Boutique Hotel

Address: 92 Franklin Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.