We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty Thai

Tasty Thai
29-33 Bank Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 7226 0451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Thai, Healthy
Restaurant details
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Despite it's look, this was a great restaurant. Both the food and service were excellent and the price was extremely reasonable. Will definitely recommend to anybody visiting Adelaide. Great for a quick lunch or a casual evening meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not exceptional, quick & easy ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013


Ordered beef massaman curry and a pad Thai. Both were good but not outstanding. Massaman had an occasional fatty or grissley piece which was a little off putting. However, the meals were served incredibly quickly and tasty

Our waitress was a pocket rocket running around sorting everything out. She was excellent and worked the entire room herself

It's not the best Thai I have had but it was definitely adequate. Huge selection of options on the menu and service was quick and efficient. Takeaway also available

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I go here at least twice a week for lunch special. The lunch specials are priced around $10 and taste delicious and fresh. Really good value for money. Service is fantastic too. Keep up the good work !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It is cheap , casual and has good food....that hits a number of points for me. The waitresses are just lovely and helpful. Make sure you check out the little specials board in the corner - its full of surprises. A colleague took me here the first time and i laughed when i saw the laminate menus - food snob that i am - but she had the last laugh on me. We had good salads, soups, the vegetarian red curry is lovely, the hot curries ARE hot for those who like them that way. I was not excited by the fishcakes but that was the only missed moment. Wine is slowly expanding to a few good choices and a couple of beers. We have eaten here since with a group of six and enjoyed ourselves. This is my favourite quick and casual - stress the casual - eatery in the North Tce / Hindley street area. Enjoy.......

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arranged take away from here, and when we went in and ordered, the lady was lovely enough to offer us free drinks while we waited.

Every dish we ordered was first class, and really tasty. The price was extremely reasonable and I highly recommend the noodle soups, as they are exceptional.

I couldn't recommend this enough, and I rate this up there with food you will get in Thailand - epic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Thai also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Tasty Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.