We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We looooooooooove it here! #glamping2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adelaide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brighton Caravan Park
Save
You added Brighton Caravan Park to your Saves list
4 Burnham Road | Kingston Park, Adelaide, South Australia 5049, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We looooooooooove it here! #glamping2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have been back to Brighton Caravan Park twice in three weeks, to pop our camping cherry, to practice putting up and taking down the tent, and seeing just how off the grid we can go. Apparently not far because we love it there!

On both visits, we have experienced nothing but fabulous service - the staff are friendly and efficient, they remembered our names, encouraged and supported our use of local businesses, used local knowledge to recommend best times (and weather) for local leisure activities, and were just wonderful.

Our powered site was perfect - just on the other side of the small sand dune separating the park from the beach. We got the beautiful sea breezes, and listening to the waves at night was just magical. Watching the sunset was a definite highlight of every day.

The amenities were clean, the new washer/dryers were fabulous, and yes the camp kitchen may have been a little small, but it was kept clean and everyone respected it. When a site was vacated, staff were quick to maintain the site and water the grass to encourage new growth.

We just loved our time there and will be returning time and time again in the future.

Now, in closing, I have read one of the other reviews on here, and all I can say Im sorry TheZwetslootClan, your review has done nothing to influence this visit of this consumer. I wonder how different that review would have been if they had their way as the majority of their review is all about $64, not the quality of the park.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear “emma n”

Wow - thanks for your awesome review - it means so much to us to know that you have enjoyed your recent stays and your kind words have put big smiles on our faces.

Since taking over the management of the park 7 months ago, we have worked tirelessly to try and provide a product and service that everyone will enjoy - so thank you for your lovely comments they are very much appreciated.

Hopefully we see you again in the next few weeks!

Regards
Danella, Chris, Des and the entire team at Brighton CP!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

On my first phone call to Trent, He was most helpfull and happy. Almost missed sign on arrival (hidden by overgrowth) Chris was great at getting everthing sorted and advising us of great places to eat (surf club food and location was fantastic :) ) Site was clean with good facilities, though no grass on our site (told they had been very busy which was fair) So close to the sea you could hear the waves beautiful clean beach and safe sea (shallow for quite a way out).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear “Tracy366”

We are thankful to know you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff were very friendly and helpful.

As for the grass (or lack thereof) on the site - you are correct, combining our busy tourist season and the very hot summer and lack of rain that Adelaide has endured - we unfortunately have lost the battle to save the grass. Our peak holiday period is starting to come to a close and we will very soon be beginning works to restore our lovely green grass.

We hope to see you again soon in the future so we will be able to share all the exciting new facilities that will be built as part of our redevelopment.

Regards
Danella - Senior Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family (2 adults, 4 children aged 11, 5, 2 and 1) arrived in the Brighton area on December 22, 2013. We looked over a couple of camp grounds nearby, but settled on Brighton. It was a bit more expensive than others (Brighton charged extra for our 1 & 2 year old. Nowhere else did this), but location wise, it was the best.

At check in we met Chris (New manager). She assured us that if we had any issues, then just speak to her directly. Well, that turned out to be a pointless exercise.

The bad parts of this park are (a) the campers kitchen - it is the worst one we have ever encountered. Small, poorly equipped, just terrible; (b) the showers and toilets are adequate at best; (c) the playground and barbecue areas were well below par, but they are planning reno's so, we'll see.

The good parts are the location, site space, and well... It is mainly location. We thought the staff were a positive, but that proved to be untrue.

Our family was traveling around Australia. We did not have too much of a plan. When we arrived Chris asked us how long we would be there? We were unsure. Chris was unable to give us any information regarding availability for the sites in the following days. It is difficult to plan your stay if managements reply to "how is your availability?" is "I have no idea." So we all agreed to pay for 4 nights to start with, and we would all take it from there.

We had a powered grass site approx 6m x 6m, set about 15m from the beach. Around us was 8 empty sites. After 4 days (3 nights), and after Christmas, it was time for us to leave Adelaide. We had pressing matters at home, and so we needed to cut our stay short by one night. At the time the park was very busy. I would estimate that there were over a 200 other campers in tents, trailers, caravans, bungalows and cabins. It was busy. We were in the only part where there were a few spaces left.

We informed the staff that we intended to leave one day early. Our fees were $64 per night. We reasonably expected that we would be permitted a refund. The place was packed, we had had a good stay, we notified Chris early in the day. We were very disappointed to be told (a) our remaining money would not be refunded; and (b) they could have sold out site to someone else, even though there was 8 empty sites around us!; (c) that it was "policy" to not refund money once it was paid; and (d) [This is what Chris said] We expect you to know your own travel plans, so we won't refund your money. Erm... Chris, you couldn't even tell us what your camp site availability was like. We would have happily paid day-by-day if you had recommend. We were also told that we were already given a discount, however the "discount rate" was still $10 more a night than the nearby caravan park that had better reviews (?)

We were talking about $60 odd dollars. Are you kidding me? The place was near full, yet Brighton Caravan park was so desperate that they had to hold on to our money? Wow. We were really really disappointed by this. We had had a good experience until this happened.

It was clear that the management are desperate to get your lovely reviews by claiming to be available for campers if they have any problems; and they are desperate to put forth this facade of being helpful and forthright, hence the long replies they make on this site; but when on the scale of things, a small refund would be reasonable, they are far less than approachable. There was no discussion. There was no "working stuff out"; there was no compromise, there was no reasonable solution. It was just a cold "No". It was really crap. And if Chris wants to get on here and comment, don't bother, because it was her that gave the final No, after I had spoken to another staff member.

We had had a nice stay up until then, and were shocked at managements attitude over $64.

Brighton Caravan Park, as for your tight fisted ways, take a page out of the Big 4's book. Kids being kids, a toilet key was missed placed by one of our daughters while we were staying at the Big 4 in Port Augusta. We fully expected to pay a replacement fee. We were both shocked, and very impressed when the manager said "No worries, if it turns up in your travels, just send it back to us. If it doesn't turn up, then don't worry about it. Have a good trip" Brilliant customer service.

Anyway... Keep our $64, Chris. And enjoy our review. This cost you $64. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear “TheZwetslootClan”

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and share your stay with others. We appreciate all feedback we receive (good, bad or indifferent) as it assists us greatly to learn how we can always improve our business.

I have spoken with Chris and unfortunately we just don’t get it right all the time, however we really do try hard to offer a holiday experience that all our guests want and hope for. We apologise if your stay with us was less that you had expected.

As with everything there are 2 sides to everything, so please let us share ours:

You were not charged for your 1 & 2 year olds as mentioned - we consider 3 years and under an infant and they are free of charge. You were charged for 2 adults and 2 children at a discounted rate of $62 per night (our normal rate for 4 persons over this peak period is $70/night). The site you stayed on was one of our premium powered sites in our peak Christmas period. We do have other site types available that are cheaper although as it was our peak Christmas period - these sites were fully booked.

Initially you came and viewed the park and then went to view some others - you had called us back while you were out to see if the site was still available and mentioned that although we were a bit more expensive, our facilities were better than what you were looking at. Luckily, we did still have availability and were able to accommodate your family.
We were becoming busy with bookings, so asked the question on check in “how long would you be staying” - and advised that you would be charged for these days. We also advised you could pay day by day, however we couldn't guarantee the site would be available as our availability was constantly changing as we took other last minute bookings.

You booked and paid for 3 days and were issued with a receipt. At the bottom of our receipt it states - “generally no refunds are issued - please ask for a copy of our refund/cancellation policy”. There is a copy of our refund policy in our office and also on our website for our guests information and we note this on our receipts so guests are aware.

When leaving the park (the day before you were originally due to depart) you advised us that you had decided to go and see family earlier than expected and wanted your money back for the last night - there was no indication that you weren’t happy with our facilities.

We agree with your comments re some of the facilities in the park - they are old and tired and are in desperate need of replacement/refurbishment and that’s why over the next few months, the park will be undergoing a major redevelopment. We are very excited about the redevelopment and the changes it will bring, and we look forward to sharing these exciting new changes with all our guests and further enhancing our beachfront location.

We do wish you safe travels for the future.

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We camped here for 7 nights over the new year period, having never been to Adelaide before we felt the location served as an awesome base to see Adelaide (the city, Mclaren vale etc). The park was busy but not over crowded, the managers Chris and Des were very approachable and easy to talk to. The amenities were clean and tidy, with cleaners in daily. This is a very well run park and we would highly recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lauren G

Thanks so much for your kind words and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was nice and central for your first trip to Adelaide.

We work hard and always strive to provide a high level of cleanliness and friendliness for all our guests, so we are happy to read your comments supporting this and I will ensure the favourable comments are passed onto our team.

During 2014, the park will be undergoing a big redevelopment and upgrade to further enhance our location so we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in future.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with others.

Regards
Danella, Chris, Des & the entire team at Brighton Caravan Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed on a premium site for 10 days before xmas. We only have a small caravan but it was well worth spending the extra $2 per night for all the extra space and close proximity to the amenities. The toilets and showers where always clean and in order on my visits and the shower pressure was good. During our visit there was a really nice balance of guests on the park with grey nomads, families and backpakers, so plenty of opportunity for a chat. The lady on reception (not sure of her name but lives on the park in a caravan) was excellent, really efficient on check in and took the time to chat with us daily as she passed. The location directly on the beach makes this park Adelaides premier metro caravan park.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear “msga12”

A big Thank you from us for your glowing review and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others.

We work hard to maintain our high standards of cleanliness so I will ensure your comments are passed onto our entire team.

We will be undergoing extensive redevelopment during 2014 to upgrade the park with new facilities and accommodation to further complement our enviable beachfront location, so we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in future.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Regards
Danella, Chris & the team at Brighton Caravan Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My family and I had just moved here to South Australia. My only complaint is that we shouldn't have stayed at the Big4 Caravan Park when we first arrived. Due to the extremely rude staff there we lasted 2 days, then packed up and moved over to Brighton Caravan Park. We were welcomed warmly by the fantastic staff and ended up staying for 2 weeks. My family and I were so close to the ocean that I could stand at our tent and the waves, sunrise and sunset. I fell asleep every night listening to the waves, absolutely gorgeous. Brighton Caravan Park will be my first recommendation to any of my friends and family coming to Adelaide to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Jodie_9510

Thanks for sharing your feedback with other on your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

if you dont want any sleep lay on there beds if you want a sore neck watch there tv if you wish to sit on a cushion on the floor sit in there sofa's and if you cant adjust your body to those great comforts your best sitting on a chair thats built like a pretzel on legs yes a great three day stay which turned into two,left a day earlier at my costs as i couldn't take any more and by the way if you are hoping to get the bottle of wine on arrival think again after being subjected to upgrading at a $32 a night which left us totally cheesed off .management should stay a few nights in the accomadation they provide and ask themselves would they be happy from dripping overflow in toilet, water in kitchen cupboard, cockroach in cupboard,a vanity unit that anyone with any respect would remove it for health reasons if nothing else i say shame to the park owners and if its run by the council they need a kick up the a*se.and thanks for the early morning call 5.30am neighbour started there truck and left running before leaving for work

Room Tip: villas refuse to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Brighton Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Robert S

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and share your feedback with others.

Allow us to share the facts from our side.

We assumed the management of Brighton Caravan Park on July 1 this year, and while we agree the park is tired and in need of an upgrade, the park has a magical location sitting right on the beachfront and very friendly staff - who will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need during your stay.

When you came to speak to us in reception 2 days after you had first checked in, we were a little bewildered as to why if you were so unhappy, you had not come to see us sooner. We do mention to all guests when they check-in - that if something is not right at any stage during your stay, then to come and see us immediately so we can rectify for you (to the best of our ability). When you did come to see us, we offered to upgrade you to the best accommodation available at the park (the Oceanview Spa Villa) so you would be comfortable for the remainder of your time with us. You chose to decline this offer without even looking at the accommodation.

As you mention, the owners should stay in the accommodation. The senior management team actually have and do on a regular basis. We agree that the cabins are old and tired and need to be refurbished, however they are very clean - we have spent a great deal of time and effort since takeover scrubbing and getting the accommodation in the best condition it can be considering its age.

We had actually hoped for 11 of our 30 cabins to be completely gutted and refurbished by now, but we have had some unexpected holdups due to some serious sewer works that had first had to be completed.

As part of our refurbishment program some of the existing accommodations will be sold to make way for brand new ones.

The entire park will also be extensively redeveloped to bring the facilities in line with 2013 and to provide an all year round holiday park for families to enjoy for many more years.

The Travel Auctions voucher in which you stayed on, was a promotion run by the previous leasee. To avoid disappointment - we chose to honour this promotion .

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us however we do hope that after all our redevelopment is complete, we could contact you to invite you back so you can enjoy the redevelopments and allow us the opportunity to show you what a magical place Brighton Caravan Park will be in future.

Regards
Danella
Senior Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brighton Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton Caravan Park

Address: 4 Burnham Road | Kingston Park, Adelaide, South Australia 5049, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.