We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kee Restaurant

Hong Kee Restaurant
218 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8211 7838
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A little Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent a few years in Hong Kong whilst I was a student. The food there was amazing and I could still remember the good times.

I am delighted to report to find Hong Kee a lovely restaurant in Adelaide. The chef there is a great master in Cantonese cooking. One should always sample their signature Roast Duck and more recently the Hong Kee Mud Crab.

I was offered Deep Fried Eel, Ox Rib and Vegetarian Hot Pot tonight. The food was just glorious and for a moment I thought I was in Hong Kong

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Hidden On The Outskirts Of Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The colourful personality of Rainbow will win you over. Rainbow is the lady boss of this quaint little Chinese restaurant that sits ironically on the outskirts of Adelaide's Chinatown. Perhaps it is one of its way of staying away from the trashy food places masquerading as Chinese restaurants at Chinatown.

There is no actual need for a menu because the names of the dishes are plastered all over the walls of the restaurant. The name of each individual dish is written in Traditional Chinese characters on individual strips of coloured paper. Very Hong Kong-like. The dishes leave the kitchen piping hot, a fantastic Asian quality that seemed to have been discarded along with many other flavours in other Chinese restaurants in Adelaide. Highly recommended dishes include the sweet and sour fish served with a very beautiful and intense caramelised blood orange sauce, and the eggplant hot pot.

Three thumbs up to this place. Rainbow was contemplating starting a Facebook or Twitter for her to keep her customers updated about the availability of seats at her restaurant. Cannot help but love her for that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Overall, this is the best Chinese restaurant we’ve been to. The food is great (the chicken/steak in black bean sauce is particularly good), prices very reasonable, service quick and friendly, and the restaurant is generally just very relaxed. Can’t ask for more! We go here at least once a week and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprise in Morphett St.Adelaide.S.Aust.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This slightly out of the way restaurant near the outskirts of :Chinatown: in Adelaide,is easily missed and that is a pity,if you are looking for delicious food at a reasonable price.This is low key and Hong the proprietor,has lived here a long time and gives you a fine welcome!The wine list is not overpriced and they stock top quality wines and you can BYO.The range is not big,but adequate for your dining experience.The decor is plain and simple,just like the chinese restaurants of old and it is very clean.It does take -away as well.I can recommend this for families,people of any age or sex and people eating alone.The menu contains plenty of variations and the food is not overspiced,so you won't go home with a burning gut.Their chinese tea from Hong Kong is nice to drink and so,cheap.Serves are more than adequate,so you won't leave feeling hungry.The eating area is divided by a wall and archway and there is enough space between tables,to avoid feeling too crowded.I have not been there when they get really busy,but there was not a long wait for the meal to be served.Suggest to give it a try,but remember,this is not an upmarket restaurant,but better than most I have been to in their category.As far as cost goes,allow around $25 per person for a filling meal,without wine or beer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a find! Go here, definitely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We we on our way to find food, and only chose this restaurant as it was close, but we were very pleased with ourselves! The decor is not the most charming, and the menu does look or feel fancy, but ignore all that because the food is delicious! Really fresh veg and good meat used, great portion sizes and I'm sure youll be even more thrilled when the bill comes! Really was great, we planned to pop back a few days later but the place was rammed - so I think we were lucky to get a table the first time! Like I say, not fancy to look at, but an utter gem.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kee Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Hong Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.