We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst caravan park experience in OZ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adelaide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adelaide Caravan Park
Save
You added Adelaide Caravan Park to your Saves list
46 Richmond St | Hackney, Adelaide, South Australia 5069, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst caravan park experience in OZ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Only good thing about this place is its closeness to the city. The amenities are old and rundown, not offering much comfort. The price is too high for this standard. The owner/caretaker is only seen driving around the park with his golf cart, bashing people in a are really rude and arrogant way. As he himself pointed out, he doesn't care about the people, as they are coming no matter his behavior. Not the best pre-condition for relax holidays, as you can see.
All together: very bad value for money. Can't recommended to go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great place and a great location.There is no where else in a state capital of Australia that is so close to the city centre-easy walking distance along the river.
The "cabin"(better than most mid priced hotel rooms) was just superb - neat & tidy with everything you may need.
Highly recommended for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Pirie, South Australia, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I work for a company that enables me to travel state wide.I am a regular visitor to Adelaide and have stayed at this park on numerous occasions. I have stayed in other parks in Adelaide before discovering this piece of paradise. The staff are friendly and always stop for a chat. Highly recommend the Villa suites.Nash and Bob are great and will do what they can to make your stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed in our own Caravan for two weeks with three kids, sites are very small but the Golf Cart Men are there to help and are very friendly. Facilities very clean, park is immaculate and very quiet considering its position. Loved the fact we could get on our bikes for an easy cycle into the city, very central location. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location in adelaide. Walking distance to the main CBD and all tourist attractions. Clean, tidy cabin that included everything advertised. Great park for kids next door. Very quiet. Great laundry facilities

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

When walking into reception for check in, we were met with rude stares, and then the girls just laughed and kept on talking. When we finally got their attention, they asked for our name and told us to fill out the form, they took payment, and gave us our key...and that was it! no map or directions on how to find our cabin, and when we asked, they just said take the first left and all the cabins are around there, which we did.

The cabin was dirty, there was rubbish and food still in the bin from the last guest, off milk in the fridge and dust and bugs everywhere!

They moved us on the last night of our stay to another cabin, as people checking in wanted to be next door to each other. They must have been paying double or something for the reception/managers to agree to that, since we couldn't even get a smile or directions!!

Whist in a rush to pack our things and move into another cabin, we left some blankets in the old one. Now, we did not realise this until we got home around 2 weeks later, so we rang the park and asked of they had them. Their reply?

"Yes, you left them in your original cabin when you changed cabins on the last night"

When asked why they didn't let us know about this at the time, seeing as we were still in the park and they knew it, they told us it wasn't their problem, and they could send them COD, which would be about $30, more than what the blanket was worth.

When we went back to reception the second day to ask about local attraction, they said the zoo, botanic gardens. We asked if there was anything else, they replied that they were not an information centre and to go into the city and figure it out ourselves.

NEVER EVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelcar, Owner at Adelaide Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
This is not Adelaide Caravan Park because we do not require a registration form to be filled out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent caravan park except there are no disabled or family orientated bathrooms. There is also no camp kitchen. Apart from that we would stay ther again in a hearbeat. The location is amazing - walking distance to Botanic Gardens, Zoo, Royal Adelaide Hospital, and if energetic you can walk to town thru the gardens. There is a great cafe 150 metres up the road as well as agreat pub on the corner. Noise problems are taken seriously and taken care of before they get out of hand. Staff where more than helpful each time approached. Pool area is great as it is shaded most of the day. Would be great to have a BBQ in the powered sites area as the other bbqs are a distance to carry everything you need if you wish to eat your meal around the bbq area. All in all it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Caravan Park

Address: 46 Richmond St | Hackney, Adelaide, South Australia 5069, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Caravan Park Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.