We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good park but not for everyone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adelaide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adelaide Caravan Park
Save
You added Adelaide Caravan Park to your Saves list
46 Richmond St | Hackney, Adelaide, South Australia 5069, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good park but not for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks. That should say something in itself. We arrived late, after reception had closed but they called us telling us that our key and park info would be in a lockbox next to reception and giving us the code. Painless.

Our cabin had all we needed, looked new and was spotlessly clean. The park is quiet overall and quite small. This is why management are precise about positioning vans, I'm sure. We weren't travelling with children and if we had been, would have moved to another park with large grassed areas in which they could run and play.

All the things that The M complains about are mentioned in park rules, supplied to all guests, as things NOT to do. Again, biking, scootering, making noise are things best done in a much larger park and Adelaide has a few of those.

The BBQ area is small, best suited to just one group, and situated between the more expensive cabins. It's an inappropriate add-on. I was woken one morning by a hyena (or someone who sounded like one) right outside my bedroom window.

The few times I spoke to reception staff, they were polite and friendly. The guy on the golf cart was likewise friendly.

In short, it's a well-equipped park, very well located near Adelaide's CBD. It's easy to get to shops and there's a pub on a nearby corner. Because of its small size, vans and cabins are close together and facilities for children virtually non-existent.

Would we stay here again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Spa cabins are best. Away from everything and close to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Not sure what The M was on.May be there expectations were high.
We found all the staff including the old guy on the golf cart to very helpful and pleasant to deal with.The amenities were next to none as far as cleanliness and location went.The park surrounds were very nice we had a great time here.Close to city and parks,a great pub not a 100 metres away with top service what more could we want.Agree with David B and 125Jasmine's reviews.

Room Tip: We had a cabin which was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Manager extremely rude, and unhelpful. The caretaker, who drove around on a golf cart was even worse, constantly badgering the children to stop playing, running, biking, scootering and making noise. Tell me "What else do children do on a holiday". If you want to gather around the BBQ area for a chat over a sausage or burger and a few drinks, "Don't bother" because after 7:30pm you will be abused by the "Golf Cart Nazi". On a plus side, both the park and cabins were clean. In conclusion, Nice park, bad staff, not recommended for kids holidays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great caravan park. An oasis in the city! Really clean and excelent value for money. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Close to a good pub and walking distance to Adelaide Oval & city central. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fremantle WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Having been around Australia TWICE this park would have to come close as our favourite. The staff are exceptional especially Bob and Nash, who welcomed us and our little girl warmly. The park itself is very clean and highly maintained and the ammenities are excellent. I have read the other "reviews" and can only gather these "people" did not follow simple park rules or were rude themselves to start with (some just have no idea at all). As for the pool, it was more than enough for 20 or so people in the peak of summer when we were there and there is a HUGE playground and grassed area next door for the little ones, unless you are too lazy to walk 10 meters. I personally wouldn't bother with these other reveiws, take it from us, its an awesome park close to the city and gorgeous Linear Park!

Room Tip: Book early as this place books out quickly- and for good reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our family from interstate had come down and this was the one night we could have everyone together. From the moment of arrival the owner was disrespectful, inappropriate and speaking in an aggressive manor to paying residents. Firstly in regards to an elderly relative with severe vision impairment being dropped off at the cabin location so as to make it easier for him to get inside (not practical to get him to walk from the park entrance (as demanded) as he cannot see!)... the owners demands to get rid of the car and walk from the entrance was rude and unnecessary. Later a heavily pregnant relative visited to again be met with a rude confrontation with the owner told to get rid of the car and again walk from the entrance. It must be noted that the cabin selected was as far from the entrance to the park as it could get. The owners was disrespectful as he stated he had no care for their disabilities. When repeatedly ask to not speak to the women like that and to calmly walk away he refused, stating he can do whatever the hell he likes!
It is unfortunate and surprising that customer service such as this is allowed.
Will be making a point to not recommend this park to anyone we know in and out of the caravan community.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Manager/Owner extremely rude, unhelpful and disrespectful. Cabins cramped and in serious need of updating and repair. No room for kids to play. Overall very disappointing and would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Caravan Park

Address: 46 Richmond St | Hackney, Adelaide, South Australia 5069, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Caravan Park Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.